We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss Mulcahy's when in Kenmare”

Mulcahy's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Do not miss Mulcahy's when in Kenmare”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Kenmare is a rare jewel in Ireland, it is filled with fantastic restaurants. Lucky for us, we have family that live there and often have the pleasure of dining out. On our last visit we tried Mulcahy's for the first time and were extremely happy. The only disappointment was that we had not tried it on any of our earlier visits. It is centrally located in the adorable downtown area. We both had the beef wellington, which literally melted in your mouth and was so tender you could cut it with a butter knife. The service was outstanding and the ambience was comfortable and welcoming. We will absolutely return on our next visit!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryleb0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    67
    25
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious, creative, and interesting”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I've just reviewed this restaurant under its previous name of 'Wild Garlic'; however, it's worth adding a note here as well, as this it a restaurant it is worth travelling to - the food is superb and artistically created, with delicious combinations of ingredients. We went here twice during our stay and both times the experience was flawless - great service and food I will remember for a long, long, time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fingerwasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious, creative and interesting...”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Wild Garlic, which now goes by the name "Mulcahy's", was a real surprise in Kenmare, as the quality of food was leagues above the usual level I would have expected in a town of this size. We ate here two nights, and in both cases the whole experience was flawless: the staff were friendly and efficient; the dining room nicely lit with good music; and both nights the food delivered flavours and combinations of ingredients that completely knocked us out. It was created with skilled artistry and great attention to detail; and every dish we ate had flourishes that lifted them way out of the ordinary. I can't wait to go back to Kenmare to go there again...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fingerwasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Realy Excellent”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The food was amazing. We had sushi starter & crab claws starters. They were really tastey. The mains were unreal, I requested the beef rare and it wad cooked to perfection. The sides are very generous. The service was perfect. Great night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shane A. O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely evening and delicious fare”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We needed a good evening to cheer up my rugby fan friends after losing the rugby to England. The delicious food, good wine list and friendly service did the trick. Great evening had by all :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aldamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mulcahy's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Mulcahy's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing