We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous !!”
Review of Forgefield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forgefield House
Ranked #17 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Forgefield House, the best one from our week in Ireland. Sheila were very adorable, good service (lift to the restaurant, washing clothes...). The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and consistent. I will return there for sure if I go to Kenmare. The best choice in Kenmare (a bit outside of the city).

Lots of Success,
The cyclists from Belgium,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonKoKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We can only add to the glowing reviews that our experience with Forgefield Inn was equally positive. We found the quiet location just outside of Kenmare perfect, as it was a very quick drive into the center of town and a good launching point for the Ring of Kerry. We enjoyed a spacious, very light and airy room for three (a couple with a 10 year old son) which was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent with something to suit everyone. The best part was Sheila and Sam, the warm and gracious hosts who were also very knowledgable and helpful. And all this for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This B&B is amazing ! As soon as we walked in we were warmly greeted by Sam and Sheila (and Casper, of course!) who instantly welcomed us with a cup of tea and a friendly conversation. They gave us a lot of suggestions and did everything they could to make sure our stay was pleasant. They really are special hosts.

The house is modern, clean, spacious and cozy . Our room had a lovely view and it was so clean, nice and quiet, with comfortable bed and amazing power shower . We especially appreciated that the towel rail in the bathroom was heated also during summer so towels were always warm.

The breakfast is superb and would suit anyone's tastes: the continental buffet had a selection of fruit salad, Cornflakes , Weetabix , Homemade Bread , Ham , Cheese , Yogurt… Sheila also cooks hot food - scrambled , boiled and pouched eggs , smoked salmon and of course the traditional full Irish breakfast.

The price was extremely good and we will surely stay there when we visit Ireland again. We highly recommend this B&B to anyone going to Kenmare.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francy-dade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Forgefield House is a lovely B&B only made better by the very welcoming hosts, Sam and Sheila. We loved Kenmare and would highly recommend staying here when passing through. The breakfast was excellent- scrambled eggs were the best we had in Ireland! The rooms are spotlessly clean and large and airy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Forgefield House was lovely. The room was quite large and was set up beautifully. We had 2 adults and one teen in one room and it was still quite spacious. Our hosts Sam and Sheila were quite nice. They gave us great hints on some of the best stops along Ring of Kerry. The breakfasts were great (my family voted Sheila's the best eggs on the trip)! Highly recommend staying in Kenmare and at Forgefield House.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank lvvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Kenmare has a great vibe. Much nicer than Kinsale, which is much more crowded. You can feel the energy, and enough space to move around.

At Forgfield, you only get...

Great hosts.
Great rooms.
Great price.
Great Breakfast.

But mostly Great Hosts! Thank you to Sam and Sheila for the nice stay. It's one of the top 2 or 3 B&B during our whole trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joelovesliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This B&B is amazing ! As soon as walked in , we were greeted by the wonderful English hosts Sam and Sheila who instantly welcomed us with tea and scones . They were happy to help wherever possible and made sure our stay was nothing but the best at Forgefield house .

The house itself was modern , clean , spacious and tasteful - with the most comfortable beds and amazing power shower . The room had tea ,coffee , bottles of water and shortbread which was replaced everyday and was very handy if you were feeling peckish before dinner ! We also liked that the towel rail in the bathroom was always heated (in summer) as it allowed us to dry off the towels and any other clothes that had got wet in the rain ! Sheila and Sam also provided us with comfortable slippers and small shower gels which we felt was a really lovely touch .

Kenmare itself is a lovely , quaint town with a variety of restaurants . Personally , we would recommend a restaurant called 'Davits' which did lovely , high quality dishes at a fairly reasonably price . You also cant miss 'Kenmare Ice cream' which does the most delicious flavours and is really cheap ( 1 scoop 1.50 , 2 scoops 2.00 ) - definitly worth a visit after dinner ! Finally , you must visit 'Crowleys' - a traditional irish pub which does wonderful irish music in the evening and has a unforgettable buzzing , friendly atmosphere ! Although we felt the b & b was a little too far for us to walk in to town, its only about a 5 minuite drive and its very easy to park .Finally do not miss a delightful walk by turning right out of the guest house as you will come to the lake which is beautiful - worth a walk down to at least on one occasion ...

Breakfast . Where do I start ? AMAZING ! The eggs were done to perfection , the bacon was crispy and we even ate our black and white pudding which was defiantly a first ! To start , the continental buffet had a selection of fruit , Bran, Cornflakes , Weetabix ,Grapefruit , Dates , Bread , Ham , Cheese , Yogurt to name a few ! Furthermore , Sheila will pretty much do anything you ask in terms of hot food - scrambled , boiled and pouched eggs , smoked samon , porridge , pancakes and of course the traditional irish made to your individual requirements . The only minor thing is the only cold drink available is orange juice so it would maybe be nice to have the choice of water , apple , pinapple but really this is only minor and it really was absolutely fantastic ! It was also lovely to eat in the conservatory looking over the green fields .

Overall , our stay with Sheila and Sam was outstanding . They did everything they possibly could to make sure our stay was pleasant and enjoyable . We definitely hope to be returning to Forgefield House in the future and would recommend this b&b to anyone thinking of going to Ireland .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.6 mi away
Avelow House
Avelow House
#15 of 62 in Kenmare
92 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 62 in Kenmare
637 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.5 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forgefield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forgefield House

Address: Crossroads Killowen road. Gortagass. | Roughty bridge, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is set in some of the most scenic areas around Kenmare. All rooms are individually furnished with personal comfort in mind. There are 2 family en-suites with super king beds, 1 en-suite king bed, 1 double, & 1 twin with shared bathroom. There is also TV, hospitality tray, slippers, and hairdryer in each room. We offer a wide choice of traditional or continental breakfast which can be eaten on our lovely elevated deck with stunning views weather permitting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing