We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the southwest of Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arthur's Lodge Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arthur's Lodge Wood
Ranked #35 of 63 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the southwest of Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I recently stayed at Arthur's Lodgewood for 4 nights with my husband and mother. This was my 3rd trip to Ireland and Arthur's Lodgewood is the nicest B&B I have stayed in. The bathrooms have plenty of hot water and provide shower gel, washcloths, soap and shampoo. There is air conditioning, but we didn't need it. House is beautiful, bed was comfortable, with beautiful linens. The breakfast was excellent, with a varied and flexible menu. Hosts Liz and Joe were friendly and helpful. There is adequate parking and it is easy to get in and out of the parking lot.
The house is within a few minutes walk of downtown Kenmare, which has several pubs with music in the evenings, good shopping (Glenaran and Quills), a harbor, ancient stone circle, a beautiful Catholic church. Kenmare is a good base for exploring the Southwest of Ireland. We made day trips to Mizen head, Killarney park, ring of Kerry, Dingle and Slea Head. I did not see any tour buses in Kenmare. Dingle was much more crowded with tourists and I am glad I chose to stay in Kenmare rather than Dingle. I hope to go back someday.
All rooms are upstairs, but my 82 year old mother was able to get up and down without problems, despite a bad knee. The house is set back from the Cork Road. A person with sensitive ears might notice the traffic. When we closed the window we didn't notice traffic noise. It never interrupted our sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizgabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I just completed a wonderful stay at Arthur's Lodge Wood in Kenmare, Ireland. It was beyond all my expectations and I did not want to leave. Liz and Joe (great people) were wonderful ambassadors for their B&B, their community of Kenmare, and their country of Ireland. The rooms and bathrooms were great (beds comfortable and plenty of hot water for showers!), the breakfast was magical, and above all, the B&B was spotless. Joe and Liz graciously provided wonderful touring tips for the Kenmare, the Killarney National Forest, and the Ring of Kerry areas and their suggestions were right on target. Kenmare is a wonderful town and the B&B is just a short walk from the center of town. Each evening, we walked to town, enjoyed the shopping, the pubs (food and music), and of course, the friendly Irish people. Oh, and if you are into golf, wonderful golf courses are located in Kenmare as well. When I go back to Ireland, Arthur's Lodge Wood and Kenmare will be on my itinerary, yet again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at 5 different places on our recent tour of Ireland and this was hands-down the nicest place we stayed at and was a great value. There's even air-conditioning! The place was so spotless we took to removing our shoes before we came in because of the lovely carpeting. The shower had great water-pressure and temperature and even the towels smelled amazing. Breakfast was delicious and Liz was so nice! I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Kenmare.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Absolutely loved this B & B in Kenmare, took my boyfriend here for his birthday as a surprise....Liz & Joe were so nice & helpful, & they were both great for advising us on things to do around kenmare...they have loads of leaflets so you'll never have to look further for things to do. The B & B Itself was lovely, the rooms were so clean & spotless, we had a room with a 4 poster bed & air-conditioning & power shower so it was perfect. The breakfast was lovely & a great start to the day. The B & B is just a short walk into town, was lovely walking into town at night which had a great buzz. The restaurants & bars in Kenmare are excellent, brilliant food, great entertainment, live music during the day, it was very busy while we were there which created more of a buzz. I would like to thank Joe & Liz for a lovely & welcoming stay, my boyfriend really enjoyed his time in Kenmare, we'll definately be back, both to Kenmare & to this B&B!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Arthur's Lodge Wood in beautiful Kenmare. Liz and Joe are very nice and helpful. The breakfast was delicious - my favorite was the scrambled eggs and salmon. The room was spotless with very high quality amenities. The B&B was located just a short walk from town. I would definitely recommend a stay at this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Good location only a short walk from town, near the golf course. Warm welcome from the owner with a cup of tea and snacks.

Room was to a very high standard with luxury bedding and complimentary water. Breakfast was also top notch. I've no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

Free Wifi available.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randomtravels2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

This B&B was really lovely and the owner Liz is really nice and helpful. Our room was large and spotless. We had a lovely comfortable 4 poster bed which was a nice treat. Breakfasts are lovely and although you can have a traditional full Irish if thats your thing, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, porridge and pancakes are also on offer. Only downside was no kettle in our room but anyway Liz offered us tea when we arrived. We would totally recommend this B&B

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Josken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.2 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Neidin House
Neidin House
#30 of 63 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 63 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf Course View
Golf Course View
#10 of 20 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Kenmare Failte Hostel
#7 of 20 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Lodge Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Lodge Wood

Property: Arthur's Lodge Wood
Address: Cork Road (R569), Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arthur's Lodge Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing