We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Countryside charm”
Review of Park Hotel Kenmare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hotel Kenmare
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Countryside charm”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone on the West coast of Ireland. Real classic 1930s feel to the hotel. Although it was pouring the grounds are spectacular and the views of the hills are splendid. Walk into Kenmare is very quick and easy. Only downside was that there is no AC. One evening it was a bit stuffy and the open windows didn't do it. Overall great hotel, Francis is a real live character! Ask hm to ride the tricycle! Cheers

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    104
    80
    41
    28
See reviews for
139
347
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This Hotel seems to be very patronised. However, we felt it was very tired now and our suite was very expensive and represented poor value for money.

The duvet was very heavy and seemed old. The bathroom was small, dark and very dated.

We have stayed In various 5 Star hotels in Ireland both large and small and both modern and historic.

We left after just one night and moved north east to a very similar style hotel the Marlfield House which is what the Park Hotel at Kenmare should be like.

A Hotel needs to be Outstanding to justify €500 a night for a Deluxe room which this hotel was not.

Room Tip: No room justifies the price sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

this is one of those hotels where the hotel is really nice, the rooms though are small, and while one can enjoy the old world charm in a hotel -I think atleast the room must be modern enough-so when a heat wave has hit the whole of Europe and the rooms have no air-conditioning 'leave the windows open' was the advice I had at hand from the front desk...which I think is pretty ill timed when you consider that day light is till 10 pm!!
the rooms in the same category have different sizes, and I had one which was tiny...the bathrooms are OK...they had what they referred to as a balcony, which was not much.
the plus is the restaurants have good food, a very efficient staff...great wine list..
I wish they'd pay more attention to the rooms, they do need to...

Room Tip: ask what size your room is! don't fall for the balcony/verandah trap!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amarbutala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a luxury hotel in Kenmare which was my favorite town on the ring of Kerry. The grounds are spectacular the rooms are classic, clean and comfortable. The pool is stainless steel with sauna and top rate spa. Highly recommend. A bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marienjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Park hotel following our wedding at Dromquinna in June. We had a beautiful room and were wonderfully looked by all staff but especially John Brennan and Ann-Marie who were very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison-Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Myself and my husband just spent 3 nights in the Park Hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite which was a lovely surprise! All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - so you get well looked after but it's not done in a standoffish way, the opposite in fact as we got to have lovely chats with various members of staff. We had dinner on one evening and loved the food - especially the gorgeous dessert - also loved the breakfast - can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel where the whole breakfast including juices were served to the table - we were lucky to have fab weather and got to have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beautiful scenery. Our room was very spacious and the four poster bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in. Some of the reviewers are correct when they say the place is a bit dated and faded in parts but to us it added to the charm. Did I miss air conditioning - in this (rare) heatwave? yes! - but when I'm booking into a very old building I don't expect air con to be honest. We spent a lovey weekend in October in 2009 at the Park and our only regret was leaving it so long for our return trip - we won't be making that mistake again! We would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

During my recent stay in Killarney we set off to Kenmare and stopped for Lunch at The Park Hotel. It was a beautiful sunny day and our waiter located a table for us on the veranda. We enjoyed a lovely Cheese Ploughmans which was served by a very friendy member of staff. We enjoyed the most beautiful views during Lunch. The Hotel itself has lots of charm old fashioned public rooms and the location is wonderful. The Dinner Menu loked great and I wished I could have stayed both for Dinner & Hotel. Maybe next visit to Ireland I will achieve that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mae494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
10.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Kenmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Kenmare

Property: Park Hotel Kenmare
Address: Kenmare V93 X3XY, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Kenmare 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Kenmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing