We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious afternoon tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Kenmare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Hotel Kenmare
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Visited here on a rainy afternoon & it was a perfect chill out time, with the Sunday newspapers. The selection on the tea tray was a perfect blend of sweet & savoury, with no overkill on any flavours. For someone like me who is fond of food, it was a 3 course experience going from savoury to quite sweet & it was pleasantly filling. If you want a snack, sharing would be fine, otherwise, be selfish :-). e27.50pp and that is with a choice of teas / coffees & refills. Brown bread was divine & their version of lemon meringue was delicious. Staff were very attentive & friendly. Book in advance if possible & request a window table (especially the bay window in the main drawing room) as you need to savour the view. Go on treat, yourself if you're in Kenmare.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macrel2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    88
    71
    37
    23
See reviews for
125
309
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at the park hotel last weekend. It was the best hotel experience I have had, worldwide. The service was absolutely top class, outstanding food, beautiful room but the staff were what made it. Everyone of them smiling friendly and could not do enough for me. I also used the spa facilities, again top class. The infinity pool is something else. I will return !!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was a wedding anniversary trip. The hotel gave us a fabulous room overlooking the water.
The hotel is very old world but it has the most lovely atmosphere. We were made to feel very welcome but it was not intrusive.
The bar is small and intimate, the restaurant for dinner was fabulous. A treat for the senses!
The spa facilities were great but note that men and women are in separate areas, but you meet in the outdoor jacuzzi!! This was the best relaxing spa experience. I wanted to stay forever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzgirlJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We rented a car in Dublin and drove the entire coast of southern Ireland during our trip, spending 2 days in various locations and staying at castles and other 5 star accommodations along the way. The Park Hotel was one of our destinations along our journey, and it did not disappoint. It was a lovely hotel with amazing views, nicely situated walking distance to the small and friendly town of Kenmare with it's quaint shops and pubs. The food at the Kenmare was also excellent. We truly enjoyed our stay. The only negative I would have to share was that we didn't have a true king bed in our room. It was two twin beds that had been pushed together and made up as a king, so the bump in the center of the bed was less than desirable. However, all other amenities and the service was exceptional. Driving the Ring of Kerry had been our goal with the Park as one of our destinations along the way.

Room Tip: Ensure you get the bed size you are looking for, as requesting a king may only give you twin beds pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craigmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

A beautiful country house hotel in the centre of Kenmare run by the famous Brennan Brothers – we visited for afternoon tea in the beautiful, elegant tea room with amazing views! Francis was at reception on our arrival and was extremely friendly, warm and welcoming despite being very busy following the arrival of a large group just ahead of us. The food is divine – although pricey, as is typical of other 5 stars. It was so cosy and warm on what was a miserable, cold, wet day in December. The hotel has many interesting and beautiful antique ‘bits and pieces’. The grounds and spa are fantastic so already planning my return visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariannaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for a one night treat over the Christmas break. This is a traditional, old school hotel, set on the beautiful Kenmare bay. Quite expensive but you get what you pay for and in this case it's top notch service, a fantastic room and excellent food. Can't wait to go back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This is a country house hotel and so it is fantastically old world, however this does not excuse hard bath towels, hard bath robes, hard bed sheets, no duvet on the beds, a shower in the bath with no pressure. The bathroom fittings were stained and the floor had Lino on it rather than tiles. In our room the fabric on the couch was ripped and covered with a throw. There is no tea making facilities in the room.

As for service there was rarely anyone at reception,no one helped to bring bags in from the car. There are men wandering around asking how your day went but they don't seam willing to help.

The wait staff are fantastic and the food is lovely. However the hotel is under staffed for a 4/5 star hotel.

I waited 10 min at the spa reception before a receptionist appeared.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Kenmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Kenmare

Property: Park Hotel Kenmare
Address: Kenmare V93 X3XY, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Kenmare 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Park Hotel Kenmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing