We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend never to forget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eclipse Ireland Holiday Homes, Equestrian & Activity Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

There is only 1 thing i can say about eclipse and that is, its AMAZING......
All my best girls decided to plan my hen party for me and it wasnt what i expected, it was better.. I would advise everyone and anyone, go to Eclipse may it be for a night, a weekend or even a week. You will really enjoy every single bit of it.

Eclipse owners and there team are a great bunch, Laughing and joking with you. They are very attentive. The premises are so clean and fab...And the BBQ, words cant describe how gorgeous it tasted, YUM

My family, friends and myself will be going back and it will be for longer then a night next time. :-)

There is only one thing left to say and that is a huge THANK YOU to everyone at esclipse. You made our stay a very memorable one, and we will be talking about it for years

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a brillant time this weekend 2 families of us arrived had planned to camp as accomadation booked up Athos and Anita couldn't have been nicer and so accommodating letting us camp great facilities. at Eclipse. kids had a ball getting muddy during Bog and Assault course. kayaking yesterday and girls loved horse riding Fantastic place ,great walks as well in lovely surroundings with breath taking mountain and lake views Everybody so friendly and helpful. Suitable for all ages did kayaking after 20 years so proud of myself. Thanks so much for letting us camp great facilities, see ye next year Thanks Anne

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had one of our best holidays here! I have 4 children, aged 6 to 13, they adored Athos and Anita, who were utterly flexible and committed to ensuring we were happy from the moment we arrived. The accommodation is amazing, plenty of space inside and out and extremely comfortable with all mod cons. My parents stayed nearby and athos was happy to arrange any activity to fit around our days out with the grandparents, and we didn't have to plan in advance. I rode a horse for the first time... And loved it! Though I fear my kids were better than I (again!). We also did kayaking, orienteering and the assault course. The setting is beautiful and peaceful, and very close to the ring of Kerry and Kenmare. My children are already asking if we can go back every year... I certainly hope so! Thank you to all at Eclipse!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had a great couple of days at Eclipse Activity Centre. The accommodation is excellent and the staff could not be friendlier. They encouraged our family (8 yr old, 2 x 14 year olds and parents) to join in everything from a scavenger hunt to a wild plunge through the bog and on to a more laid-back time on the lake kayaking. We enjoyed it so much we ended up taking a class the next day in archery too. Despite the long drive (from Mayo) the kids have already asked about next year. There are also loads of places to visit in the area if you have a longer stay. Almost forgot to recommend the tree house / play area with different levels, swings, ropes, a slide etc. We all had fun there too.Thanks a mill Athos, Anita, Sonny and Juan ,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We are just back after a fantastic day in eclipse for a hen activity! I cannot thank the staff enough! I would thoroughly recommend this place if your looking for the craic!From the moment I booked to the time we had to leave was just fantastic! We had such a good day that will be spoken about for months! So so good!! Thanks again lads! A day we'll never forget!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sazzer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visited Eclipse in February 2014 and had an amazing trip. Everything from the activities to the staff was great and I would highly recommend this for all ages.

Location:
The centre is located about a 45 minute drive from Killarney. The scenery is unbelievable and even though we experienced very bad weather it was still beautiful. You actually drive through the ring of Kerry to reach the centre which is really breathtaking. (The only slight downside was it was sometimes a little difficult to get coverage on our phones.)

There is a shop just a five minute walk from the centre which has any basics which you might need.

Activities:
There are a plethora of activities to choose from. We choose to do kayaking, archery and the brains challenge. For kayaking, you have the option of a small lake or a river. We choose to try the lake as we were novices. We were free to spend as much time as we liked and it was very relaxed. I think that the lake was good to build confidence and if we returned (which we hope to) we will definitely try to progress to the river.

Archery was not something which either of us had tried but it was very enjoyable. We found it to be surprisingly physical but incredibly satisfying when we hit our first targets. We were taught the basics such as stance, grip and how to improve accuracy. Following this, we got to have some fun with a balloon target challenge complete with forfeit for the loser!

The brains challenge involved orienteering before an obstacle course. We were shown how to use a compass and to navigate the property. At every point in course, there were puzzles and clues which needed to be worked out. I think this activity would be great for a team-building activity as it really helps to work out the clues with a partner.

The obstacle course was quite demanding but had obstacles to suit all strengths. For my partner, the strength based challenges such as the 9 foot wall was a great opportunity to test his abilities. For me, the agility based obstacles such as the balance beam were really enjoyable.

For each activity, all of the equipment is provided which is great. You are talked through each activity, trained and encouraged throughout! I really felt a great sense of satisfaction on completing each activity!

Staff:
The staff are one of the best assets to this centre. Athos, the owner of the business was so helpful, accommodating and had such an admirable passion for the activities. He was so welcoming and really took a great interest helping us and making sure that we enjoyed our stay.

Every time we met a member of staff, we were greeted with a smile and they all seemed to genuinely love what they do. In each activity, we were guided along with care and I really felt like I learned some great skills. Questions were welcomed and we felt safe during every activity.

Accommodation:
We stayed in cottage one which had 3 bedrooms. The decor was modern and the rooms were immaculately clean. Every modern appliance that you could need is provided. The cottage was spacious and ours could have catered to several more people. The kitchen is beautiful and we brought and cooked our own meals and had all of the equipment we needed provided in the house.

On our first morning there, Athos came by to talk us through our activity choices and brought us fresh milk for our morning tea!

We were welcome to use the spa whenever we liked. We were given a tour of the facilities and they were modern, clean and luxurious.

Value:
Considering the quality of our accommodation, the great staff and the activities, I think that this was incredible value.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our cottage felt like our very own home for the weekend. It was very cozy and perfect to enjoy a movie in after a long day of activities.
There is something to suit every interest. Throughout the activities, your level is catered to and although you learn to push yourself, it is in a comfortable environment.

The staff were wonderful, the activities enjoyable, the accommodation immaculate and I can't recommend this centre enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMJP1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I went to Eclipse for my 21st and could not be happier, fantastic enjoyable experience for everyone for went. They could not have been more understanding for our needs and took the time so everything was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
7.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
970 reviews
6.2 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
7.4 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
685 reviews
7.3 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eclipse Ireland Holiday Homes, Equestrian & Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclipse Ireland Holiday Homes, Equestrian & Activity Centre

Address: Dromore Old | Blackwater Bridge, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: £111 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eclipse Ireland Holiday Homes, Equestrian & Activity Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and make yourself at home in one of our cosy holiday homes. You won't need to venture far to find something to do during your stay, because you're only steps away from adventure! Our equestrian and activity centre near Kenmare, Co Kerry includes eleven magnificent stables, with horses and ponies suited to all the family, an outdoor arena, off road trekking, kayaking and fishing on our private lake, mountain biking, archery and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eclipse Ireland Holiday Homes, Equestrian & Activity Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing