We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice way to see Kenmare Bay”

Star Outdoors Adventure Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 Fun & Games in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Water Activities;Kayaking, Canoeing, Sailing, Pedal Boats, Water Trampoline & Slide, Waterskiing, Wakeboarding & Banana boat rides on the Kenmare Bay. Land Activities;Archery, Team Challenges, Orienteering, Mountain Walk Star Outdoors offers activities to families and groups alike including summer day camps!Hourly guided Wildlife Cruises aboard “The Star of Kenmare” depart from the Star Marina pier only minutes from Kenmare town centre to explore the Kenmare Bay and its wildlife including the Kenmare Bay’s very own large seal colony.Also on-site is Con’s Seafood Bar & Restaurant – serving fresh seafood sourced from Castletownbere supplied by Star Seafoods, Kenmare. Our balcony provides stunning views over the Kenmare Bay and the McGillicuddy Reeks in the background.Located on the R571 on the Ring of Beara road towards Castletownbere.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice way to see Kenmare Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Did the Wildlife Cruise of Kenmare Bay with Start Outdoors Adventure Centre. Was lovely way to see the countryside while getting a little bit of local information on the side. The trip was about an hour long. Totally suitable for families, couples and groups of friends. We went in May so not much wildlife to see but we did get a glimpse of some seals. We mostly went for the boat ride. Wrap up well, Irish weather is infamous for changing. Tea was provided on the boat which was a nice plus.
Will definitely be back to use some of the other facilities of the Adventure Centre such as kayaking.
Most pleasing thing before we went on the trip was that we were actually contacted back about confirming a booking and the boat times. Needless to say we did not hear anything from the Seafaria group when contacted multiple times on their phone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarOutdoors, General Manager at Star Outdoors Adventure Centre, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to us recently. We are delighted you enjoyed your trip and appreciate your positive comments. As visitors to this area usually have a short time to see so much we try to offer a very prompt reliable service to enable you to get to your other destinations also. Hope to see you back soon experiencing some of our other more active activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    19
    5
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Great Family Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Took the extended family on an afternoon cruise on the "Star of Kenmare”. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 9 children (aged from 4 to 12). The cruise last 1 hour and you pass by Dinish Island and head out Kenmare Bay past the Perch Rock and back.

It gives you a different perspective looking at the countryside from the middle of the bay. You pass 2 castles and a manor house which you could never see on the shore. (Dromore Castle was the home of Harold Sigerson Mahony who was the last Irishman to win the mens Wimbledon tennis championship in 1895. Won a few Olympic medals for tennis as well).

The kids loved being on the boat. Passing the seal colony on one of the many islands on the bay was their highlight.

When we got back to shore we went to the Con's bar/restaurant, Deidre behind the bar was great and organised 9 hot chocolates for the kids and teas and coffees’ for the adult.
To top off a great afternoon, a round of mini-golf is also included and the kids and the adults had a competitive competition going.

The cost was €90 for the cruise & the mini golf. Considering the size of our group, this was excellent value. The staff were excellent. We spent an enjoyable 2.5 hours there. Star Outdoors does loads of other activities as well which are well worth checking out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LyrDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's never too cold for a Water Trampoline!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We took the 1 hour eco-nature cruise on Kenmare Bay. We enjoyed beautiful scenery, castles and seal watching. The cruise operator said that they often see dolphins, although we didn't see any. They play Irish music and a recording that points out interesting sites along the way. There is an outdoor viewing platform on the upper deck and a bar with interior seating on the main deck. They serve tea, coffee, soda, beer, wine and a couple of snacks.

After the cruise we rented wet suits and took a paddleboat out to the water trampoline & slide. It was great fun even in the cold weather. When it started raining they came out on a speed boat and picked us up for a quick trip back to shore.

After getting dried out and dressed, we had dinner at Con's Restaurant. Even though it was quiet there and they were expecting a large tour bus party soon, we had excellent food and excellent service, including a post-dinner trip to the ice cream freezer, which is stocked with locally made ice cream that was delicious.

Our day at Star Outdoors was fantastic. Every single staff member from the lovely lady in the office to the boat crew to the guy who fitted our wetsuits and drove the speedboat were warm, friendly and helpful. Our kids are begging to go back next summer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarOutdoors, Manager at Star Outdoors Adventure Centre, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our centre and staff. We are delighted you enjoyed your day with us and look forward to welcoming your family back for a repeat visit. There is loads of choice in our flexible summer camps or on the family package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for a hen party with a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We didn't want to do the typical hen party activities like making cocktails or learning a dance, so when we found this place it sounded perfect. The activities were so much fun, I don't think any of us realised we were so competitive until we started the archery. Our instructors were great and we really had alot of fun. Blindfold jenga, obstacle courses, mini golf were so much fun. The best one involved the maid of honour standing in a wooden triangle while using ropes we tried to get it to 'walk' don't know what it was called but we all laughed so hard it made it a day to remember. Thank you to our instructors for putting up with us. Anyone looking for laughter filled activities for a hen or stag party should definitely give this a go. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarOutdoors, Manager at Star Outdoors Adventure Centre, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your great review of our centre and instructors. We have a wide range of activities available here and it is great when the chosen package fits the group so well. I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to our outdoor team. Look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back for another visit in the future. Maybe a splash out on the water next time ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent adventure centre for teenagers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just spent last three days with 33 teenagers at Star Outdoor Adventure Centre. Excellent range of activities, helpful staff, and great value for money.
Well done all.
St. Ailbe's School, Tipperary

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pkennedy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarOutdoors, Manager at Star Outdoors Adventure Centre, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
It was great to welcome your group back again to our centre as it proves we must be doing a good job. Returning customers are a great assurance to us that we are on the right road with our centre. Look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again maybe next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Outdoors Adventure Centre also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Star Outdoors Adventure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing