We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the hotel. This is in wrong section.”
Review of Dromquinna Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dromquinna Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Went for a drive to Dromquinna to see the whole offering there. It is a gorgeous location. While day was wet we still enjoyed visiting. Went into the boathouse and actually really enjoyed ourselves. Much Sangria and tapas later we enquired about rooms but waitress told us that only camping was available. This was very disappointing as I had choosen here because I had seen on tripadvisor in hotel section. A couple at the next table helped us by driving our car to Kenmare town and we stayed at the Lansdowne Hotel which is a nice old town centre hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Spent Easter weekend in campsite with our 2 young kids in our camper van. A fantastic purpose built campsite which is pristinely clean in a fabulous setting. Lots of little extras like a courtyard with outdoor barbecue facilities. The Boathouse restaurant on site is excellent and good value. Fantastic views and lovely walks nearby. Great value at 25 euro with everything included.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our daughter recently had her wedding reception in Dromquinna on August 25th. When we saw the Manor in the winter we were completely reassured that the venue would be fully refurbished by the date of her wedding, and it most certainly was!

The attention to detail was second to none; the staff, led by John Brennan, could not have been more attentive and helpful, right though to the early hours the next day. The tables were beautifully presented and the food was excellent.

I forgot to mention the location! Absolutely perfect, overlooking the river and mountains, with plenty of grounds to walk around in. The tapas bar menu in the riverside restaurant is excellent value for money and well worth a visit also.

You will certainly enjoy a your time here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequenttraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Had a delicious lunch on the outdoor terrace of the Dromquinna Boathouse on a sunny Sunday afternoon. There was a choice of tapas, pastas or pizzas and everything was fresh and tasty with generous portions and friendly staff. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DocKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Spent two nights in in one of the family tents recently (2 adults + 2 kids). Very different to spending two nights in a hotel. No hustle & bustle, no TV's. Very relaxing time. All of us enjoyed our stay. Beds were super comfortable & we all slept very well. The onsite facilites (shower & toilet block + the kitchenette) are clean & well maintained. Pitches are very private & well spaced out. We ate in the Boathouse bistro (very nice) the forst night & dropped in there for a drink the second night. If you are looking for a family getaway & want to try something different then I'd recommend looking into the Glamping experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaterfordWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Celebrated with friends recently at their son's wedding and the experience from start to finish was magical. The host John Brennan was "hands on" and enjoyed the banter as much as the rest of us. The setting is like a picture postcard and the words haunting and enchanting spring to mind. The grounds are super for strolling around with pre-dinner drinks and the quirky corridors and rooms make for interesting talk especially when you lose your way after too much wine. Had an amazing next day bbq at the beautifully restored Boathouse with its waterside setting. In all one of the nicest places I have been but then it's in Kenmare and where else can you find such natural beauty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Churlaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just returned from a brilliant Glamping weekend, our group occupied nine out of the twelve tents & we had a great time. We got tent no 12 which had a STUNNING view of the lake, tent no 10, 11 & 9 also had perfect views while the other tents had minimal views and you would need to walk towards the lake to enjoy the spectacular sights. The tents were exactly as we expected with each having their own wooden deck and chairs to see out and enjoy the countryside. Each tent had fresh towels, bedside lockers, lamps and hot water bottles if the nights get chilly. The bed linen & pillows were hotel quality and aided a perfect nights sleep. There is no power socket to charge phones but it was nice to switch off for the weekend, phones could be charged in the kitchen area if needed.

For children there was a playground, volleyball court and plenty of green space for them to play games. The kitchen was clean although it only had one fridge which was very small to accomodate the 12 tents, they require another two in my opinion. The BBQ areas were great with large park benchs to enjoy your food al fresco. Showers/toilets were spotless and water was lovely & hot which was very welcoming after a dip in the lake.

Small shop on site for basic requirements but closes at 6:30pm, Kenmare town is a 6/7 minute drive away if you require anything past this time.

We had a brilliant time & we plan to return next year.
Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request Tent 12, 11, 10 or 9 If You want a full view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingaddict12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
2.7 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
702 reviews
11.1 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
2.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Courtyard at Sheen Falls Country Club
2.6 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromquinna Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromquinna Manor

Address: Templenoe, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dromquinna Manor is a 40 acre estate on the shores of Kenmare Bay. The Manor is dedicated to catering for weddings up to 180 guests in a magnificent Victorian building with a warm contemporary decor. A simply stunning setting with personal service. We have 14 tents on the grounds which are fully furnished and feature really comfy beds with duck down duvet and goose down pillows. Camping was never like this. The Boathouse Wine Bar & Bistro offers a tantalizing selection of dishes by the water. Shutters on the Pier is an informal party venue on the water that is ideal for informal parties for up to 120 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing