We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip of two halves, sadly”
Review of Dromquinna Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dromquinna Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A trip of two halves, sadly”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Dromquinna last September. It was the final weekend of the season and we were really pleased to get availability. The first night was as described in most of the reviews here. Really blissful! The luxury tent was lovely, the Boathouse Restaurant fantastic, the peace and calm so good for the soul, the loudest sound was the lapping water on the shoreline and the breakfast basket was a great touch. We thought we had found our 'get away from it all' place.

Sadly not.

As we enjoyed the Boathouse Restaurant so much on the first evening we went back again the next evening. Again, great. Would really recommend the restaurant. As we strolled back to our luxury tent that evening we heard the sound of a band playing from the manor itself and thought nothing of it. We guessed it was a wedding party. We sat outside our tent for a while, and heard the music some more. Started getting a bit worried then, as it was drowning out the sounds of the previous night's blissfulness. We didn't sleep much that night, and not for a pleasant reason either. The band got louder, with a really heavy thudding base, the wedding party poured outside infront of the manor and continued to party on loudly. The manor house is not far from the camping area. At 3am in the morning we had to endure at least two, maybe three drunk revelers running through the tent area a few times, roaring at the top of their voices. The vulgar language was disgusting. We also had to endure wedding party guests coming back to their own tent at about 2.30am in the morning, to continue to party in their tent, extremely loudly. The night's experience was like staying in a first floor hotel room, just over a nightclub, with walls as thin as tent material. And, it was made worse knowing there was no one to go to at that hour of the night, no night security guard or night supervisor. To add to our disgust, when we described the night's events at reception the next morning we got no interest and no apology. In short: wedding parties at Dromquinna Manor are not compatible with the 'pure natural bliss' promised when staying in a luxury tent in Dromquinna. If you decide to book a stay here, I would advise you to ask if there is a wedding party on during the dates you request, and if there is, don't book these dates!

Room Tip: As mentioned in main review, when booking ask if there is a wedding party booked into the Manor on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Clareanseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    22
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
56
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A big thank you to James and staff for a most enjoyable New Years Eve 2013 at the Boat House Restaurant, Dromquinna Manor. On arrival welcomed with a glass of bubbly, the ambiance was spot on, the menu as well as being fantastic value was superb, service was timely but not rushed, food tasty and delicious. A great venue for dinner anytime ticks all the boxes. Would recommend as venue to celebrate new year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilmac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I went to Dromquinna for a two night weekend stay in July. We were looking for something a little different for a special anniversary and after booking this I was a little worried due to some of the reviews. We should not have been worried at all. Dromquinna is heaven on earth! We booked a two person tent and we had a clear perfect view of the bay. The tents themselves are cosy and surprisingly huge. On our first night we arrived after midnight following a long drive from Dublin in 38 degree heat. The welcome we got was warm and unhurried – like arriving to someone’s home.
The facilities are excellent. Clean, powerful showers are housed in the renovated stable block; which were very much needed after that drive down! Good hairdryers are provided (in the stables as there are no sockets in the tent) as are towels and toiletries (left by your bed). The style is minimalist, clean and fresh and suits the place perfectly.
Outside the stable block there are barbecues for your use and on that night there was a lovely fire lit in the fire pit outside with a few people relaxing around it. There is low level lighting on the grounds and the stable block is a 3 minute walk from the tents. There is a motor home area also which is between the tents and the stables. Next to this is a really lovely playground too.
The bed. Imagine sleeping in a big soft fluffy cloud. We have never slept better. There is clothes storage and handy plastic sealable bins for any foodstuffs you might want to store. The tent is warm and thanks to the double walls never feels damp.
Dromquinna is peaceful and calm. We stayed on our deck enjoying the quiet with some candles lit and a bottle open that night. Others are also sitting outside their tents but the noise level was always low and pleasant and tents are well spaced so you still have your privacy. There were plenty of kids around but we were never disturbed by noise during the weekend.
We woke the next morning to an incredible breathtaking view and found a picnic basket on our deck containing a flask of coffee and two delicious fresh croissants with all the napkins, milk etc we needed. A lovely touch.
The estate is about 10 mins drive outside Kenmare which is a gorgeous town with lots of life in it. We were lucky to be there the weekend of the food festival too so it was extra special. I wouldn’t walk in personally as the roads are a bit lethal with confident country drivers but if you had a bike and helmet it would be a nice cycle. There is a decent supermarket in Kenmare and the town seems very family friendly too.
On our second day we visited Kenmare for lunch, swam in the bay, lounged on the deck and enjoyed a fantastic dinner and drinks in the Boathouse restaurant. We had booked first thing Saturday morning and were glad we had as it got very busy! Staff could not do enough for you even sending us back with a full ice bucket so that we could continue the evening on our deck with the bottle we had brought with us. Another fantastic night of sleep in that fluffy bed, another picnic breakfast and we were very sorry to be leaving at all on Sunday. We will definitely be back!
Just a note on the price. Yes it is expensive BUT total switch off and peace and quiet is priceless in this day and age. No phones charging. No laptops, no tv, no distractions. If you are desperate I know staff in the restaurant were offering to charge phones during your meal so no need to panic if you are thinking of being away from the kids and want an emergency line but if you can at all I would suggest turning the phone off altogether.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoisinMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised to find this wonderful campsite. Dromquinna is a 38 acre estate on the shores of Kenmare Bay, four miles west of KIenmare on the famous Ring of Kerry. There are only about 15 or so hardstands for Motorhomes/caravans but they also cater for glamping. The facilities are superb with everything included; no added extras for showers or electricity. They also have a Boathouse Bistro which we didn't use this time but will in the future. As well as shoreline walks there is a lovely pathway along the cliff which gives fantastic views. There is a laundry, kitchen area for use by the glampers and a lovely BBQ space with seating. They also have a small shop for small bits and pieces you may need. Very welcoming staff and a place we will certainly return too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-P7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We just spent two wonderful nights under canvas at Drumquinna our first experience of glamping it was a fab experience. The tents are really spacious and the beds really comfortable the views are stunning and I would love to do it again. The welcome from Gwen was great and in fact all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the Boathouse both nights. Lovely atmosphere and great food. The crab claws were delicious and the prices very reasonable particularly for Kerry. It was also lovely not to have to drive to get good food. We also really enjoyed the breakfast arriving in the picnic basket All in all a wonderful experience in a stunning location

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marydublin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Dromquinna is a stunning place. I went with a friend and it was so beautiful we were in raptures at the landscape. Every detail of the stay has been well-considered. The tent is wonderfully appointed: the bed is ultra comfortable, the duvet is goose down, the furniture reflects the natural environment with bedside tables of varnished, sanded tree stumps and beautiful wooden tables. There's even lights over the bed and a posh loo only yards away.

We had two fabulous, comfy chairs to sit out and enjoy the view. Dinner at the Bistro was good. Recommend the the crab claws. Then it was a short stroll back to our tent. We had such a great time watching the light on the lake and chatting for hours.

In the morning a wicker hamper filled with a flask of hot coffee, croissants and all the accoutrements turned up.

We didn't make full use of the barbecue and the fire pit but I have plans for that and will return with the hubby!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I'm going to be picky and I think I have every right at €150 a night. Firstly I'm not a fan of camping, it's too much work. The positives, the view is great from the tents, looking down onto kenmare bay. The bed in the tent was very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and professional. But at the very least I would have thought a glamping site would have a socket in the tent to charge phones or laptops. Having to get up in the middle of the night and stomp up to a toilet is not my idea of fun and listening to the tent zips going up and down during the night is also not much fun. Listening to people talking in the neighbouring tents at night was irritating to say the least. You couldn't sit out in the evening and enjoy the view because of the midges. The facilities are quite good with exception to the Urinal trough in the mens toilets which seemed to be leaking onto the floor and after a few days of not being cleaned the odour was getting quite strong. This is more for the families. I'm just not cut out for camping especially when it costs this much.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2Travel105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
3.4 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
927 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
649 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
925 reviews
10.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
13.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromquinna Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromquinna Manor

Property: Dromquinna Manor
Address: Templenoe, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dromquinna Manor is a 40 acre estate on the shores of Kenmare Bay. The Manor is dedicated to catering for weddings up to 180 guests in a magnificent Victorian building with a warm contemporary decor. A simply stunning setting with personal service. We have 14 tents on the grounds which are fully furnished and feature really comfy beds with duck down duvet and goose down pillows. Camping was never like this. The Boathouse Wine Bar & Bistro offers a tantalizing selection of dishes by the water. Shutters on the Pier is an informal party venue on the water that is ideal for informal parties for up to 120 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing