We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy B&B”
Review of The Brass Lantern

The Brass Lantern
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brass Lantern
Ranked #33 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“cozy B&B”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

i stayed here for two nights recently
the room was big but basic it was very clean and and fresh the bed was very comfortable staff were very nice
on the first morning breakfast was very good with a big varity of food available
on the second night when i returned to the b&b it was late there was a note on the room door telling me that i would have to travel into the town centre to the coachmans for breakfast the reason behind this is unknown i did not avail of the breakfast that morning this was a major inconvienence to me
overall central location close to the shopping centre church and other amenities
could do with some air conditioning and some satalite tv channels in the rooms wifi is available free of charge

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a small home that was converted into an 11 guestroom inn. There is no front desk, just a small living room and dining room. You are given a key for the front door of the home and another key for your room. The rooms are quite comfortable and clean. The property is located near, not in, the main part of Kenmare, but it is a short 10 min (max) walk to the shops, restaurants and pubs. There was breakfast available in the morning. The Brass Lantern is owned by the by the owners of the Coachman Inn, just down the road. I had dinner there and stayed in the pub for some great Irish music before walking back to the Brass Lantern.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This B&B is attached to a pub in town-Kenmare. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was fine but the B&B lacked the personal touch of a Bean an Tí (woman of the house). However the house was clean and well presented and had ample parking at the rear of the house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NavanViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

stayed there over the weekend .very nice place excellent clean well appoi nted rooms
lovely breakfast and lovely staff just a couple of minutes from the centre of kenmare
good value for money

would recommend to others

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This establishment was clean and very comfortable. The most outstanding part was the brilliant staff that were on the ball with a magnificent breakfast. It is also connected to the Coachmans Inn in town which offered great music and fantastic food. They couldn't have done anything else to make out stay more comfortable. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintcarolAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

It would be unfair to review the actual hotel as we never got to stay there, so this is based wholly on the customer service. When we arrived at the hotel for our one nights booking, there was a note pinned to the door explaining that they had had a problem with the boiler and we had been relocated to another hotel. Fair enough - these things happen, but it was really dissappointing not to be met by the owners so that we could have had a personal explanation. Neither had they made any attempt to contact us via our mobile to explain to us what had happened and so avoid us making a wasted journey to their property. The note on the door was quite formal and no apology! Sorry Brass Lantern. It may be that you have a fabulous b&b, but we certainly wont be taking the touble to find out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
226 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with 2 friends

It's a approximately 5 minute walk to kenmare from the b&b

The staff were friendly

The room was spacious and clean

We thought it was a good value for money option for kenmare

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConorFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.3 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Avelow House
Avelow House
#16 of 60 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Shea's Ceol Na Habhann
O'Shea's Ceol Na Habhann
#14 of 60 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.4 mi away
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brass Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brass Lantern

Property: The Brass Lantern
Address: Old Railway Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brass Lantern 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minute walk from Kenmare town centre, The Brass Lantern offers free parking, free wifi, spacious modern guest rooms and ensuites, and beautifully furnished reception rooms. Bike storage available. An excellent breakfast is served and the host is a fountain of traveller tips and hints. All rooms types available; double, twin, triple and family. Groups are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Brass Lantern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing