We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop for views and things Irish”

Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm
Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Molly Gallivan’s cottage and traditional farm invites you to take a step back in time to experience the simple country lifestyle in rural Ireland before the days of electricity and modern conveniences. Molly’s enchanting cottage is over 200 years old and her farm is complete with animals, fowl and traditional farm machinery. Molly’s old Tea Shop is very unique in Ireland, here you will taste locally made foods cooked and baked in the traditional fashion. We also hold traditional Irish evenings at Molly Gallivan’s cottage, these are nights of Irish food, music, song, dance and story telling, re-enacting the old customs that took place in Irish homes. Advanced booking is required for our Traditional Irish Evenings please contact us for availability and prices.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A must stop for views and things Irish”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A great selection of Irish products . They have one part of the area with a fireplace just like it was way back when . Also a great view from there too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank caperbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    114
    19
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a Stop”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Enjoyed learning about a way of life different from what we know. Take a break, get a cup of tea, and walk the farm. it's worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience! ”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped here while touring England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland and this was my favourite part of the entire trip! Interesting place with a fantastic atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Laughter, Great Food, Good Company - A perfect evening!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I went to "The Homecoming" at Molly Gallivan's and had so much fun. This is not a show, it is an interactive experience. Learn how to make moonshine and drink a shot - no sipping. Then over to dinner with unlimited wine,Veg Soup, Irish Stew, dessert and the fine new friends you'll make at your table. Then off to the cottage for the party. A hilarious storyteller, excellent musicians, step dancing, singing, party pieces, poetry, a little bit of history and irish coffee. I highly recommend it. Very authentic. You're not in Disney, I'll tell ya! About $48 and totally worth the price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Estuff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanersborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
193 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Cosy little place for a cup of tea”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a really nice stop we found going from Kenmare to Glengariff. We only visited the cottage as we had been to another traditional farm the day before. There were a lot of souvenirs and other things to look at. I bought a poncho made from wool. We also had a cup of tea, a Guinness cake and a scone which was all very lovely. And there is a lovely view just across the road where the parking is.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lothloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing