We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great music”

The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 55 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Kenmare Town Centre, The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant is run by the Jones family since 1969. Delicious Irish favourites including Beef ' Guinness Casserole, Seafood Pie, Fish 'n Chips, fresh local seafood. During dinner,some of the finest entertainment that Ireland has to offer is performed. There is a wonderful atmosphere and fond memories are made.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, great music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We headed to the Coachman our first night in Ireland. Reasonable prices, good solid food and WONDERFUL music. One of our favorite nights during our 2 week trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MargCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    170
    47
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Sunday night dinner - a great way to end the weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We booked for dinner in The Coachman's on a Sunday night having been attracted by the live music advertised outside

We were warmly welcomed and shown to a prominent table in the restaurant and our drinks order taken. Staff were polite and friendly but not intrusive and took our orders.

I chose the Seafood Chowder which did not disappoint, creamy and rich with chucks of dish it was sublime. The vegetarian soup was also delicious. For mains we sampled the Pork Loin which was a massive portion with veg and apple sauce, the Goats cheese and fig tart was great, I had the Chicken wrapped in bacon and stuffed with cream cheese, which I'm afraid to say I found rather dry and a disappointment with the undeniable highlight being the Beef in Guinness Stew which looked amazing and tasted as good

Music started around 7.00 and featured a male and female duo, who were excellent and modern - the perfect background to a great meal.

A great night out in Kenmare which I would definitely recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dma1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had excellent food and entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We enjoyed the friendly pub atmosphere and were able to experience the sounds of an excellent Irish musician.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We ate here twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Live, lively local music. Delicious food. Helpful and friendly staff. If you're coming specifically for the music, call ahead for a table, although a place at the bar would still be fine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank symbiont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,815 reviews
667 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,204 helpful votes
“Simple and enjoyable lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Good relatively quick service. Basic lunch menu with cottage pie, burgers, toasties, selection of beers etc. the prices are moderate. It is a good place to stop for lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing