We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and very welcoming”
Review of PF McCarthy's

PF McCarthy's
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious and very welcoming”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were here on two separate occasions during our stay in Kenmare. The first time we came in for drinks and a starter. We had the bahjis which were good. It just so happened that this first night was the annual "12 pubs of Christmas" event - so we were able to get a taste of local traditions and shenanigans. This was also the first time we tried Murphy's and instantly fell in love with it. When we came back the next night, we decided to try their food and we're glad we did. Everything was delicious. We ordered the beef Guinness and mash, pan seared salmon with roasted veggies, and lemon chicken with guacamole and cheese. All the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, whether they are just looking for a place to get drinks or looking to enjoy a full meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smccarragher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    115
    31
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Cozy and Welcoming”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I enjoy PF McCarthy's. It is always welcoming and the staff works very hard. Food is good and in colder weather they always keep the fire going. It is a great place to go, whether for lunch, dinner, tea or a pint!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madeit2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Soup on a Rainy Day...hits the spot”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

On a wet and misty day, we stopped here while driving the Ring of Kerry. I ordered the lamb soup, served with a slice of yummy brown soda bread, which I call Scotch Broth. Wow, was it good. It was just what I needed on that damp day. Friendly service and good WiFi

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank needles4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and great value”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This little bar/restaurant is a wonderful little cosy yet modern place. The food is great value, especially the pizzas and appetisers. Service is always with a smile which is unusual these days funnily enough. In the summer you can also sit out the back, although there are heaters and there is shelter, so it should be possible all year round. In the winter you're greeting by a warm cozy fire. The clientele are a diverse bunch from far and near alike, some who are visiting, some who have always lived here and some who have been infected by the Kenmare bug and visited but never left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaniloWRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our best food in Ireland!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We chose this place out of many just by instinct and we struck gold! Amazing atmosphere with great live music, happy people all around us, friendly and welcoming staff and heavenly food. Aromatic soups, best vegetarian pizza ever, and a Beef and Guinness Stew to die for.

Fantastic experience, if only there was a 6 in the rating scale...!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cleopatra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PF McCarthy's also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to PF McCarthy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing