We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the cottage
sunset from the patio christmas in the Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
the cottage
sunset from the patio
christmas in the Cottage
dining area
kitchen
double bedroom
view from behind the cottage
rear view of cottage
sitting room
kitchen area
double bedroom
twin bedded room
view from bedroom window
the patio
the cottage
tea time
twin room
Meet Mutt the pet sheep
good morning
main reception area
the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
caitegirl
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage, scenery and most of all Mag, are fantastic. It is so very peaceful, beautiful and relaxing there on the side of the mountain. There is no other place that I would ever want to stay. Mag is wonderful and makes one feel very welcome and is so helpful with everything. I can only say great things about Mag. This is the place to go to just relax and get away from all the stress.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mag and the beauty and peace of the area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiddleto...
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An idyllic home away from home, surrounded by unrivalled views, genuinely welcoming people and sheep!”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Do yourself a favour and stay at this cottage, we could only get four nights away but would have happily stayed longer. Our recommendations are a visit to Derreen gardens and the seafood platter with copious pints in Teddy o Sullivans. A drive to Kenmare or the Ring of Kerry is also advisable but you don't need to leave Lauragh to get everything you'd want. Thanks to Mags and Eugene for their hospitality, we will be back x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitKat762...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Secluded Location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is beautifully situated with lovely mountain and water views. Mag is very friendly. The interior of the cottage shows some wear and would be improved by some minor repairs and replacements.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful few days in this cottage, it is such a peaceful, secluded place and full of character and the views are spectacular. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin S
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Mag and Eugene are the perfect hosts--available, friendly and non-obtrusive. Their cottage is incredibly cozy and inviting, having everything we needed for an outstanding week-long visit.

Central of Beara, Iveraugh, Sheep's Head and Mizen Head peninsulas, Lauragh is a quiet place, away from the bustle of Kilarney or Kenmare but close enough for easy access. It is peaceful and quiet with the occasional sheep wandering through.

We couldn't have asked for a finer location or a nicer couple to provide it to us. I will add a note of special thanks to Mag, who answered so many of my questions about the south of Ireland that I felt like I knew her long before we ever met. She was beyond wonderful. So many thanks for making our last week in Ireland so very memorable, Eugene and Mag!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy and cozy
Liked least: Midges!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merwood20...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic, pastoral”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first time in Ireland but my husband's long-overdue return to his native land. The 'Traditional cosy stone cottage' - which is exactly what it says it is- was perfect for both of us. We invited friends to visit us while we were there, and ended up having three sets of guests for a few days each. This was just fine with the owners, Mag and Eugene, who were very accommodating and attentive without being the least bit intrusive. My only suggestion for improvement would be less lumpy mattresses and re-stuffed sofa and chairs - things we didn't even notice after the first day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing