We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy retreat in a beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property
the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the cottage
sunset from the patio christmas in the Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
the cottage
sunset from the patio
christmas in the Cottage
dining area
kitchen
double bedroom
view from behind the cottage
rear view of cottage
sitting room
kitchen area
double bedroom
twin bedded room
view from bedroom window
the patio
the cottage
tea time
twin room
Meet Mutt the pet sheep
good morning
main reception area
the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hannah S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cosy retreat in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cottage for a week over new year, and had a wonderful time – it was still decorated for Christmas, with a lovely tree in the living room, and felt very much like home for our stay, especially once we got a fire going. Although we didn’t get to meet Mag, we met the very helpful and friendly Eugene and Gavin (if memory serves us correctly?!) and the even more friendly dogs, who welcomed us back each time we returned.

The cottage is set back behind the house and is very quiet and secluded – although we often encountered a few sheep on the way up, who also made their presence heard during the night! The view over the harbour is ever-changing but always beautiful, and a pleasure to wake up to. And there are plenty more memorable views to be found around Lauragh and Beara – we were lucky enough to have a day or two of bright, clear skies, and the highlight of our trip was a sunny drive around the coast of the peninsula, which took in the wondrous Healy Pass, Castletownbere, and the little beach at Allihies. Also worth a visit is Gleninchaquin Park, Derreen Gardens, Killarney National Park, and of course Kenmare.

Thank you so much for having us – we very much enjoyed our stay and are already making plans to return to Kerry to explore some more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location
Liked least: Nothing - all great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandiFlor...
Florida
2 reviews
“Look no further...this is perfect!”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Buried in the heart of the Beara Peninsula is a gem of a cottage. This little cottage is the perfect blend of traditional Ireland with a few mod cons thrown in. You are in the perfect location to base from to visit all of the Beara Peninsula, the lovely town of Kenmare, Kilarney, the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. Give yourself plenty of time because you will want to see it all. Mag and Eugene are a fabulous resource for directions, suggestions and places to eat and drink. They know their area well and the area knows them. They have equipped the cottage for comfort, with a lovely fire, washing machine and everything you need from a cozy cup a tea to a BBQ on the deck. After a f\day of touring it really felt like coming home. The views from the cottage are second to none. (see added photos from the deck) You will not go wrong with the choice, the beds are comfy and the atmosphere is perfect. A few tips make sure when you visit Kenmare stop in at Crowley's Pub - it is charming, old world kind of place with a cast of characters that will make you visit well worth it. On the Beara Peninsula our favourite haunt was Teddy O'Sullivans. Don't miss it. Pauline will make you feel like one of the family and her chips are out of this world.
I guarantee you we will be back as there is more to explore and we will not stay anywhere except with Mag, Enjoy your visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the traditional feel, the fact we felt like we belonged and perfect hospitality.
Liked least: Our time was too short!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California, United States
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of sea from patio
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
caitegirl
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage, scenery and most of all Mag, are fantastic. It is so very peaceful, beautiful and relaxing there on the side of the mountain. There is no other place that I would ever want to stay. Mag is wonderful and makes one feel very welcome and is so helpful with everything. I can only say great things about Mag. This is the place to go to just relax and get away from all the stress.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mag and the beauty and peace of the area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiddleto...
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An idyllic home away from home, surrounded by unrivalled views, genuinely welcoming people and sheep!”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Do yourself a favour and stay at this cottage, we could only get four nights away but would have happily stayed longer. Our recommendations are a visit to Derreen gardens and the seafood platter with copious pints in Teddy o Sullivans. A drive to Kenmare or the Ring of Kerry is also advisable but you don't need to leave Lauragh to get everything you'd want. Thanks to Mags and Eugene for their hospitality, we will be back x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KitKat762...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Secluded Location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is beautifully situated with lovely mountain and water views. Mag is very friendly. The interior of the cottage shows some wear and would be improved by some minor repairs and replacements.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful few days in this cottage, it is such a peaceful, secluded place and full of character and the views are spectacular. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;