We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Heather Farmhouse
Brisbane
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here on our trip Ireland. We loved the rural setting- my daughter went for long rambles during the twilight. It was a perfect location for exploring the wonders around Kenmare with a very congenial hostess.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

White Heather Farm enjoys an enviable position in the beautiful green countryside between Kenmare in County Kerry and Glengariff in County Cork - the perfect base for exploring this fabulous corner of the Emerald Isle, steeped as the region is in both history and pre-history...for only a short walk down the road is the new heritage centre at Bonane, with its stone circle and hill-fort and in the opposite direction is Kenmare itself. All around you is a very real sense of culture, of connection with the land itself.

And welcoming me on arrival with a nice cup of coffee was Sheila Lovett, an excellent hostess, kind and friendly and an expert at providing lovely breakfasts (which will more than prepare you for any serious exploring you might be looking forward to). My room, the bed and indeed all the facilities were spot on. The surrounding country is incredible; the variety of flora and fauna almost overwhelming. A magical place.

The only thing I didn't like was leaving. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadhg o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was my first stay at a farmhouse B & B, and I felt very pampered. I arrived mid-afternoon and was warmly greeted by Sheila with coffee and delicious tea breads. That's the kind of attention to detail that I like.

The views at the front of the property are really quite nice, and I liked that it was a working farm (no cow smell, though!) There's a hen house off to the side, and it was fun watching the chickens strut their stuff. Their eggs made a nice breakfast treat -- there's nothing quite like the taste of fresh eggs straight from the farm!

I found the beds comfy, the bathrooms spacious and clean, and the whole accommodation very nice. I also like the way it was laid out. I have my hair dryer and curling iron, and I like to have an outlet near the mirror. Not all B & B owners understand this. Sheila really does 'get it'.

When I got home that night from Molly Gallivan's Amercan Homecoming (just down the road and a must see and do), the room was toasty warm. Sheila had even put a hot water bottle between the sheets to warm my bed. Now that is pampering at its best!

Sheila's been in the business for forty years and has seen the different incarnations B & Bs have been required to maintain. It's interesting to hear what it took back then, and what it takes now to garner a four star rating. I've always been very satisfied with three star B & Bs. I think Sheila does very well!

White Heather is an easy five minute drive into Kenmare, which has a lot to offer. Wednesday mornings there is a farmer's market in town. The Heritage Center is near the Kenmare Lace and Design Centre, which has a fabulous display of the world famous Kenmare Lace.

Gleninchiquin Park is nearby and a great place to walk. Just down the road is Molly Gallivan's, as I mentioned, and also the Bonane Heritage Park. All three are definitely worth your time.

I recommend Sheila's White Heather as a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGuidesForWomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We were a group of 8 friends - we stayed for 2 nights last week. Sheila was a good host and very warm. The experience of being on a farm made it unique as well. Overall a homely experience & one that I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajsanyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagler Beach, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We arrived in Kenmare and went to other B&B's which were higher on our list of choices. All were full and White Heather Farmhouse had availability. The farm is quite a way out of the main town area. Rooms and bathrooms are adequate but nothing special. Sheila is a kind, delightful woman who tries to be as helpful as possible. She recommended a Chinese restaurant in town which we tried. It was the worst Chinese food we have ever had. Oh well......live and learn!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dentist62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

White Heather Farmhouse is a lovely place, with a pasture filled with cattle in front, a hen house to the side (which is where the breakfast eggs come from!), and a bountiful garden and mountain in the back. And Sheila was one of the nicest, warmest people I met in Ireland. We got an opportunity to have a once in a lifetime experience through a friend's relative, and I'm not sure who was more excited, us or Sheila! When we asked for advice on our travel plans, she was eager to help and advise on what plan made most sense considering the weather, roads, etc. The beds were soft and comfy and the breakfasts were delicious! I'm so glad that we got to stay there for several days.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiechristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed here for one night, we were greeted warmly with tea and scones. Very clean with nice rooms. Sheila was a great host, very helpful with our child and navigating the area. Great if you have kids who like animals, lots of sheep and cows.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjaminwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.5 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
O'Shea's Ceol Na Habhann
O'Shea's Ceol Na Habhann
#15 of 64 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 64 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.9 mi away
2 Mile Lodge
2 Mile Lodge
#12 of 64 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Heather Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Heather Farmhouse

Property: White Heather Farmhouse
Address: Gortrooskagh, Kenmare V93 VXD0, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Heather Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three star approved White Heather Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast is located on 100 acres of farmland close to Kenmare town, Co. Kerry, in a picturesque quiet area with stunning mountain views. The River Sheen flows through the farm on its way to Kenmare Bay and a fishing licence may be purchased in the local town of Kenmare. The Lovett Family has been welcoming guests for over 30 years. WiFi Internet access, pets allowed, children, walkers and cyclists most welcome. Spending time on a real working farm is great fun & educational. Convenient for touring the Wild Atlantic Way, Ring of Kerry and Beara Peninsula, and local attractions include the award winning Bonane Heritage Park, Gleninchaquin Waterfalls and Molly Gallivans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your White Heather Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing