We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in a Comfortable Setting”
Review of The Sailors Bar

The Sailors Bar
Ranked #23 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sailors Bar is located just three miles from the picturesque town of Kenmare on the Castletownbere Road (R571). Come and experience a traditional Irish Bar coupled with great food. We have extensive outdoor seating overlooking the beautiful Kenmare Bay. All tastes catered for, seafood & steaks a speciality. A favourite spot with the locals....
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Comfortable Setting”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After a long journey to Kenmare our group wanted a good meal. We went to The Sailors Bar and were not disappointed. It has the look of a typical pub, but the sites and smells of the dishes coming from the kitchen let us know it was quite more than typical. Known for its seafood, the menu also has a diverse selection that will accommodate any palate. My friends both chose seafood dishes and I had checken curry with saffron rice. We all enjoyed our meals. My portion was so large that I brought a large amount home and enjoyed it again the next day. The staff are friendly and helpful and the management have raised the bar on the term "pub fare." This is definitely fine dining.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Libby1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    26
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The sailors is quite an experience - the selection of food is genius - fresh fish that makes the mouth water- meat cooked to perfection - and a view that you only dream of - if it was closer to the water Bart and Carmel would have the perfect location but as it is ! 99% there - great pub and a 5 * rating - portions very appealing

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafood delight”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had the seafood platter.. My tastbuds said thank you.
Was worth the short drive out of Kenmare to visit this family run pub

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Finspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very pleasurable on several levels”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We visited The Sailors Bar twice while in Ireland this past June, 2013. The first time, simply to sit at the bar and inquire about their Tuesday music night and to have a Guinness, properly drawn. The second time we attended the music night and had dinner. I had the famous seafood platter and have never had such a huge meal come to a table for me. It was delicious. One of the things that I loved most about Irish restaurants in general was the wonderful quality of the seafood and the quality of the prep for these meals. As we ate, the 2 regular musicians came in and set up, 2 banjo players. This was of particular interest to us, as my husband plays the banjo, too. Then, 3 more musicians showed up who had been at the Irish festival in Doolin the previous weekend. It made for a magical evening, as it turned into what we had hoped for a pub experience in Ireland. Friendly locals who stopped at our table and made a point of talking about local places and events, a waitress who indulged us with personal conversation about her teaching career (part of which is teaching Gaelic), and the musicians themselves who loved talking about their craft and shared some banjo tips with my husband. All in all, we loved The Sailors Bar. We may never be in that part of the world again, but we will always remember our evenings spent at this wonderfully run restaurant. Thanks, folks, and most particularly Miss Sullivan....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ncgirl1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food but not much of an experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My expectations might've been set a bit high before arriving but I wasn't overly impressed with The Sailors Bay.

We sat outside and ordered the Seafood platter which was a really good dish full of well presented fresh fish. There is a beautiful view from outside across the water with the backdrop of the Kerry mountains which is such a fantastic asset to any restaurant.

However, it did feel more like a quick pub lunch experience due to the poor service.

Although no-one was rude; the two waitresses who were dealing with the tables outside didn't really seem like they cared that much. The service overall wasn't attentive in the whole and at the end of the meal we had to ask for the bill three times before going inside to find someone to pay.

It was largely disappointing for a restaurant I had higher expectations of.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nevergetbored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sailors Bar also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Sailors Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing