We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strawberryfield Pancake Cottage

The Strawberryfield Pancake Cottage
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Pancake Cottage is beautifully located up in the mountains on the Moll's Gap to Sneem road, between the Ballaghbeama Gap and the Gap of Dunloe. When travelling from Killarney town, take the road through the Killarney National park and at Moll's Gap you take the road to Sneem (R568). We have a good selection of sweet and savory pancakes, homemade soup, apple-pie and scones. A little playground and a lovely gift/craft-shop.
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had the most fabulous pancake today in this hidden little gem. Absolutely loved it today and will definitely be back. Had tried to come here before but there was a 45 minute wait so it didn't happen. Today there was a free table to our delight. My friend and I both had the strawberry, banana and chocolate chip pancakes there were divine. The tea was also lovely and served in a cute little cast iron teapot. Fabulous waitress. Great experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IrelandSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    30
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Co. Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First time and will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We took a diversion on our road-trip to try this place out and glad we did. They have a superb choice on menu, every topping, savoury and sweet that could go on a pancake. You get one big pancake which is plenty. There is also the option to sit outside, but the restaurant inside is nice too and is nicely decorated and clean. Staff didnt make much conversation with us but that was fine too. Will definitely return for the lovely pancakes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheniad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Left wanting more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Just happened to come across this place on the way to killarney and we were not disappointed. I have one fussy eater and he licked the plate clean,the waitress was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sorcha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to the pancake cottage will certainly not be our last. We were lucky with the weather and were able to sit in the lovely garden. The bacon and maple syrup, ham and cheese and blackcurrant and chocolate pancakes are all highly recommended. The service, setting and food could not be faulted. Can't wait to return!

Helpful?
Thank sasjs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Was looking forward to going to this place for awhile now and it lived it to my expectations. They have a big menu and a great choice of pancakes which were lovely, had a savory and sweet one. The coffee could do with being a bit stronger and the tea a bit bigger as the pot was very small but other than that great place; very quirky and original.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strawberryfield Pancake Cottage also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Strawberryfield Pancake Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing