We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”
Review of Sheen Falls Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheen Falls Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed in the Sheen Falls for 3 nights at end of Aug/start of Sept. I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and staff. Our room was massive with the biggest bed i've ever seen! We had lovely views out over the sheen falls. As someone has previously mentioned there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms which for a 5 star i would expect them to have.
The food was excellent. As part of our deal we had one nights dinner in the fine dining restaurant and one night in the casual dining restaurant. Both meals were delicious!
Breakfast each morning was fantastic, great selection on the buffet and you ordered from a menu for the hot foods. Highly recommend the pancakes and french toast!

The swimming pool was small but thankfully nice and quiet (children are restricted to certain times of the day). The gym was small and the equipment was quite dated.

All in all it was a very enjoyable and relaxing few days and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    173
    85
    40
    13
See reviews for
220
515
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Everything about this hotel was top notch! From the service provided by the wait staff (most of whom were from various foreign countries) to the front desk and concierge.

My husband and I were traveling with a tour group and were scheduled to stay in Killarney, but due to the Irish Open were 'bumped' from our hotel (a 4-star establishment) to Sheen Falls (a 5-star establishment). What an upgrade!!! The only drawback about the location is that it is about 2 miles from the nearest village, Kenmare, but the amenities at the lodge make-up for this issue. On premises there is an indoor swimming pool, tennis courts, hiking trails, 2 restaurants, library, lobby areas with sofas and a fireplace, 2 bars, outside dining with view of the waterfall, beautiful flora (great for walks and photos), free computer access and complimentary computers in the library, so it was not a hardship to remain on premises. While our tour bus driver was willing to drive us to the village, only 5 of the 32 people in our group went to town.

The main dining room offered delicious fare and a great selection of wines. Several of the chef's recipes are listed in "A Taste of Relais & Chateaux," a cookbook that was available for reading in our guest room. Breakfast and dinner were real taste treats!

While we did not have children, there were several families with younger children who seemed to be enjoying the swimming and hiking. Overall, Sheen Falls Lodge is a great place for a relaxing vacation....or an unexpected upgrade from a tour hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prof61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Charming location with friendly staff but completely overpriced. 5 star prices without the trimmings of a 5 star hotel. Rooms were basic, spa/pool was below par.

The knock on effect of this was that the hotel was practically empty and lacking in atmosphere.

Dinner in La Cascade - again, very nice but more should be expected for the price and no surprise, it was almost empty.

A real pity because the hotel has potential but needs a reality check.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaiserShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Just returned from a most relaxing and enjoyable stay at this special hotel. We found it just the thing to help unwind and recharge the system. Our Junior Suite faced the bay - was well furnished and lacked nothing - other than a tea and coffee in the room. We noticed that this could be requested (why not there all the time..??) which we did. Likewise no minibar in room.
These are very minor quibbles with what is an excellent well run but relaxed 5 star with plenty of space - in a very unique location
We will certainly go back and hang the expense it's well worth it.

Room Tip: Be sure to request room over looking the Falls wll in advance - even though they are not guaranteed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRMC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I have stayed in Sheen Falls on 3 occasions over the past 13 years, - and enjoyed each time immensely. (Each time dining in La Cascade, but had never been in Oscars). On this occasion, we were not staying in the hotel, - it was a family holiday and we were self-catering, -but decided we could not leave Kenmare without a visit to Sheen Falls anyway, and so booked for BBQ night in Oscars. On the evening in question, it absolutely lashed - with torrential rain all evening. We entered the hotel, and the concierege did not even look up from the desk to greet us. There was noone at the reception desk, but then a girl came out and we asked to be directed to Oscars. We were told to go back out into the courtyard, and up the hill slightly, and then you can enter the main door to Oscars. We did this, - in the torrential rain, - only to find out that is is possible to get to Oscars by walking directly through the hotel. I appreciate that they may want to keep this area exclusive for residents, but I think that a little initiative from staff should surely realise that on a very rainy night, the objective would be to keep ANY customer dry and happy. I felt that because we were just attending for a meal, we did not warrant any attention, which is ridiculous, as everyone who walks through that door is a potential returning customer. Having stayed 3 times before, and always wanting to go back, I did feel a bit let down by this experience, and now am not sure whether we will or not. The BBQ experience was good, (with a happy chef despite the rain!!) and the head waitress was very pleasant and helpful, - though we did have to ask other staff for a jug of water 3 times!! Just felt we saw a different side of Sheen Falls than what my previous memories had been.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank TeresaMIvory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Silverware, wedgewood, great food, good service, comfy couches & the waterfalls in the backdrop, what more could you ask for ? Great !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SerendipityCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We decided to treat ourselves over the long weekend in august so my husband , myself and 3 children chose to stay at sheen falls.

Before arrival I had requested that we have a low floor. On entering our room of the junior suite the
window opened upwards so all my
toddler had to do was jump up on the winDow seat and jump out!
They sorted this by putti g a plank of wood to stop it open g altogether
, greT we were all stifled for the
stay. The decor was old and dated , the luxurious toiletries ( molten
brown ) were not there. No fridge , no tea/ coffee making facilities / the
children were allocated times for a swim in the tiny pool / no lockers /
2 showers in dressing room/ sauna tiny / the 'junior suite ' was just a big square room / window frames were filthy / although I cannot fault the staff , they all seemed to be robotic , there was no warmth about them. The bar and restaur
Had no atmosphere whatsoever And completely overpriced (8.50 for a glass of wine ) 170 ml glass !! And not a drop more , I thought it was
My glass to taste !! The kids menu not varied at all and overpriced . The breakfast was fantastic , all cooked to order but finished at 10 am. Overall this place to me is more a country manor guest house and not a five star hotel. Don't go if you have young children. They are clearly not welcome. There is much more value to be had in other five stars around the country.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smcguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
934 reviews
13.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
11.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,220 reviews
10.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheen Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheen Falls Lodge

Property: Sheen Falls Lodge
Address: Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheen Falls Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly Restored Country Lodge dating from 1765, overlooking Kenmare Bay & Sheen River Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheen Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheen Falls Kenmare
Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing