We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheen Falls Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheen Falls Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for the weekend in early October. Refurbed room overlooking river was gorgeous. We had some superb food and wine. The staff could not have been more helpful. Highly recommend to people looking for a nice stay in Kerry. Local golf courses are good and there is great fishing at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Lindstc,

We are grateful for your time in reviewing your recent experience with us. Our Head Chef & his team in the Kitchen as well as our Restaurant Manager Yohan along with his team on the floor will be really happy to read your comments. I agree about the local golf I grew up in Kenmare & the courses are wonderful. The fishing season has now closed so hopefully next year if you return we will supply the golf clubs, the fishing rods, wellies and bait & you may catch your dinner!

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    161
    77
    39
    12
See reviews for
204
478
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in this wonderful Hotel in magnificent room 302. The Hotel is beautifully decorated,the pool area is spotless and we could not have had a more enjoyable stay.Breakfast was excellent and served efficiently(thank you Cindy) The food at the wedding was superb. What more can I say but that we will be back. It was hospitality at its best.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear SK,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit I know that as it was a wedding perhaps it was all too fast. Cindy will be very happy to get a mention she is a wonderful & valued colleague. Its an easy spin from Limerick so hope to see you back again soon for another Sheen Falls Lodge experience.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is in a most perfect setting. The interiors are lovely and very tasteful. Also very comfortable. Many areas for a quiet cup of tea or just to read a book. The staff is very helpful but not pushy. Would love to go back someday.

Room Tip: Was at first disappointed that I did not get a room overlooking the river but the view of the bay wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear ZZZUSA,

Kenmare bay is a stunning view I agree and as these rooms look across at Ireland's tallest mountain range with the tide inching in and out all day this is certainly a unique aspect. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much my colleagues are a great team and always do their utmost to please. I hope we can welcome you back to SFL in the future and perhaps on your next trip you can take in the Falls view.

Do send me an email and I shall be happy to assist in any arrangements

Warmest Regards
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Down
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and its staff. The location is fabulous. Our room had a beautiful view of the falls. The room itself was spacious, well decorated, relaxing and clean. The staff in all parts of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a bother to them, including my special dietary requirements. The restaurant served delicious, fresh local produce and the staff were very well trained. They certainly made us feel special. The breakfast offered great selection too. There is plenty to see and do in the locality. Restaurants in the town are yummy, but a bit on the pricey side. There are plenty of bars full of craic. The hotel offers a drop off and pick up service into the town (within certain times). The pool area was well maintained and facilities were good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Fiona M,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit with us we are delighted you had such a great time at Sheen Falls & enjoying the Kenmare area. Being a local boy I am biased but I totally agree with your comments about the craic in Kenmare its a wonderful little town! All the team will be trilled with your comments about the experience you had - they always try to do a great job for our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Kenmare in the near future - should you need any assistance please do email me directly.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick Hanley,
General Manager,
Sheen Falls Lodge
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a beautiful room for a one night stay as we were traveling around Ireland. Once again, wish we had an extra night. We were able to check out some of the property and the nearby Old Kenmare cemetery but would have liked to explore more of the beautiful grounds as well as the village of Kenmare. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Rooms and bathrooms are quite large and somfortable.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room overlooking the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear dhill100,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write about your recent stay with us. On your next visit to Ireland you can stay the extra night! In fact we have a great offer called "sweet dreams" which includes a third night with our compliments so you could really explore this amazing area from top to bottom literally hike Ireland's tallest mountain and dive in Kenmare Bay.

The most important aspect of your journey will always be the team and we are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality so much.

Please do contact me should you be planning a return journey I would be happy to assist.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend and had a wonderful stay. The room was great with a fabulous view. The staff were very friendly, especially the receptionist!! The grounds were beautiful! We will be back for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Peter O,

Thank you for your very kind comments on your recent visit with us - we were spoil this September with wonderful weather, I am happy to report is continuing into October now thankfully, this really lets our wonderful grounds and very picturesque setting shine!

Beyond that however the most important aspect of this hotel my colleagues really looked after you especially our front desk team. All our team are the most important part of the Sheen Falls Experience and I am delighted they made your stay so memorable & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Send me an email should you need any assistance with making your booking.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley
General Manager
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location. Our room had breathtaking views over the sea inlet and although by no means one of the larger rooms, was spacious and comfortable. As a hotel it has been significantly extended but at it's heart is the old country manor, with it's drawing room, library, open fires, comfy sofas and armchairs. Perfect for guilt free relaxation if it's pouring with rain - as it was for us.
The staff are warm, friendly and attentive. The food abundant and delicious. After a wonderful couple of days we packed up and checked out. We drove the two miles to Kenmare, had lunch, then rang the hotel to ask if they would take us back. They did.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick H, General Manager at Sheen Falls Lodge, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear KateB,

We are very grateful that you have taken the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience at Sheen Falls Lodge we always endeavor to deliver such experiences and its always nice to know when you have succeeded.

We would like to welcome you back to Kenmare at your convenience please do send me an email and I will gladly assist you in any requests.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick Hanley,
General Manager,
phanley@sheenfallslodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
610 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
889 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
11.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
1,994 reviews
13.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheen Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheen Falls Lodge

Property: Sheen Falls Lodge
Address: Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheen Falls Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly Restored Country Lodge dating from 1765, overlooking Kenmare Bay & Sheen River Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheen Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheen Falls Kenmare
Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing