We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Shelbourne Town House from across the raod
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View of the Shelbourne Town House from across the raod
Patio area in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
travellin...
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just spent a week at Shelbourne Townhouse and loved it. Charming house, great location with easy back garden access to Henry Street. Great to have lots of wood and peat available for the 2 fireplaces. Very clean with lots of nice
touches. The staff at The White Room(where you check in) were extremely gracious and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nicely furnished and good location”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the house at the height of the tourist season in July. The house is just off the main drag, which does provide for a little less traffic noise. The house is 250 years old. There are three floors and three flights of stairs that you definitely have to use. The bedroom on the top floor as three beds and was quite cozy, with roof top windows and a view of the church steeple. The main bedroom on the second floor was nicely furnished with a comfortable, but a little on the hard side mattress. The kitchen was in the basement, which was walkout to a patio. It also had everything you needed.
The house does not have its own parking, but there is a free lot across the street. Since it was the busy season we did have a slight problem finding parking one night. The house is on the Ring of Kerry so although quaint, this is a very busy town. We found it to be a nice location.
You do have to pay separately for the WiFi if you want it, 16 euros and an additional fee if you downloaded too much off the Internet. We paid twice that amount for our downloads. The TV had limited channels but we did not watch it anyway.
The property owner was very nice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The furnishings were nicely done, very comfortable and location
Liked least: The kitchen in the basement
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyTop
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent home in the heart of Kenmare”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Shelbourne Townhouse for a week in late September, early October 2012. We checked in at The White Room, a linen store in Kenmare, whose owner also owns the townhouse. Although we were never able to actually meet the owner herself, we were well treated by staff at the store. The house is lovely, although tall and very narrow. This meant one room per floor...living/sitting room on the main floor entered through the front door, master bedroom and hallway bathroom up one flight from the main floor, and kitchen/dining area down one flight from the main floor, leading out into the rear garden and an alleyway. There is also a second bedroom at the very top of house, with twin beds and a futon. The stairway was curved and tucked into one corner of the home. My wife had to be very careful walking up and downstairs as the treads curved and at times were quite narrow. Multiple floors and stairways notwithstanding, the home is lovely and well maintained. Coming in the late fall as we did, we were a little chilly at times, as we didn't want to stand the expense of having the oil heat on 24/7. But we simply put on a sweater and were just fine. The main draw for us was the location...right at the top of the town and easy walking distance from all points in Kenmare. Our week's stay was very enjoyable.

Jim Topczewski, Scottsdale, AZ

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location near heart of Kenmare
Liked least: All the stairs to climb for one room to the next
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you for the kind comments and we are delighted that you had a good stay in our townhouse. Happy new year to you and your family
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$583
/ Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing