We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millfield House

Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Front of Millfield with its private garden Large well-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Sheen Falls, 5 minutes drive from property
Front of Millfield with its private garden
Large well-equipped kitchen
Sitting room with a traditional open log fire place
Dining area is perfect for long family suppers
Perfect for that romantic break away
Morning sunshine in the double en-suite room
Modern en-suite shower room
Bright bedrooms with mountain views
Farmers' market every Wednesday in Kenmare
Landscaped garden to the rear of house
Fish caught locally by guests who stayed at Millfield
15th August traditional fair day in Kenmare
Ross castle, Killarney
Suspension Bridge - 2km from house
Sheep grazing locally in the summer sunshine
Wild life on the nearby roughty river
Bright hall with beautiful sunshine
The heritage town of Kenmare - 1km away
Beautiful bars, restaurants and shops - 1km away
A group boating on the Lakes of Killarney
Sea views - 3km away from Millfield
The White Strand, fantastic for swimming
Ring of Kerry Golf Course - 5km from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
BridgeQue...
Manama
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Everything was exactly as promised by other reviewers, fab house, beautiful scenery, very generous hospitality. Thank you Gail.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely comments and hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smileypig...
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Clean and Comfortable stay in the Emerald Isle”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

There may have been a few hiccups throughout our stay (Gail knows what I mean) but these were speedily resolved and I cannot fault the service provided. In truth, there's not a vast amount to see in Kenmare apart from restaurants, gifts shops and the stone circle, but the surrounding areas are beautiful and can be reached via car. The cottage itself was comfortable, warm and unbelievably clean and the welcome pack provided by Gail was a nice little touch. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at No. 2 Millfield and I would totally recommend this to families and otherwise wishing to visit southwest Ireland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and it was a pleasure having you stay at Millfield.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This modern and spacious home exceeded our expectations on many levels. It's modern, spacious and has lots of large windows providing good natural light throughout. There's a small but attractive rear yard with outdoor dining furniture, garden and lawn. Parking is a breeze with a private two car parking space at the front door. Free wifi proved very reliable during our one week stay. Location is ideal being in a gentle, mildly upmarket part of Kenmare suburbia yet an easy flat walk into town. The big bonus is the highly personable and larger than life owner, Gail O'Sullivan. Not only did she provide us with a thorough and excellent orientation to Millfield House upon arrival but she was highly accessible whenever we needed help or advice. An unanticipated event occurred during our stay and Gail stood on her head to help us in every way humanly possible. Can't say enough good things about Millfield House and its lovely owner. It was a great introduction to Ireland on every level.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thanks Brian for your wonderful review and hope you both enjoyed the remainder of your "Mega" trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your really lovely comments and for just being the perfect guests, thrilled to have you any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alan06021...
Peyia, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Gail, the owner, was there to greet us when we arrived - lovely person, very welcoming and gave us all sorts of very useful information about Kenmare and the wonderful surrounding areas.
The accommodation was perfect for the four of us - clean, modern, spacious and with many homely touches. It exceeded our expectations.
Kenmare is ideally located for touring the magnificent scenery that this part of Ireland is famous for.
Kenmare also has all the shops, restaurants and pubs that we could have asked for - they are within walking distance of Millfield House.
Thank you for a great week Gail.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
It was lovely having you stay at Millfield and thrilled you enjoyed the week. Most especially, thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette B
1 review
“Perfect location for touring”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Millfield House is located a short, easy walk from the center of Kenmare and has off street parking .The house is very well equipped, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and has plenty of room for two couples traveling together or families. There is a very pretty enclosed back garden with a large picnic bench which is a nice touch. Gail has a warm, welcoming personality and goes out of her way to be helpful.
Thankyou Gail, despite the weather we loved our stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius118...
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Choice in Kenmare”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We spent the week from 13. – 20. May as 2nd station of our Ireland trip in Millfield House which is about 1.5 km outside the center of Kenmare. Although with 3 bed- and 2 bathrooms it was actually too large for us, being only 2 persons, we would choose it again in any case. Without describing any detail, absolutely nothing was missed. Bedrooms and livingroom are comfortably furnished, kitchen is very spacious with nothing lacking. Big TV and free Wi-Fi.
Gail turned out to be a extraordinarily nice and friendly hostess who had so many welcome gifts (wine, cake, bread, pralines) for us that we could not eat them all.
So as a result: first choice again, if coming back to Kenmare.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about Millfield and it was my pleasure to meet you both, call again, will be thrilled to see you!
Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing