We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Staff was polite but not very friendly. The room was spacious and ensuite was ok . Breakfast limited in choice : no cheese, poor choice of bread and marmelade. Good choice in hot breakfast The town of Kenmare was a 5 mins stroll away and worth the walk.
Ok to stay over but would not specially recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review
Our apologies you felt the buffet was limited, with our tour groups we offer a full breakfast which is agreed with the Tour company
We hope the rest of your holiday was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future were you may be able to avail of our full Irish breakfast buffet
Your Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
There are newer reviews for Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My brother and his family and my family and I had a lovely short stay here. We had comfortable rooms close to each other. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were bright. We ate in the dining room one night and the food was excellent, although a touch expensive. The staff were charming and friendly. We were a short walk from the town, where there are loads of pubs, restaurants and cafés to choose from. The hotel is not actually on the bay, but there are beaches close by. And you are, of course, on the Ring of Kerry, which we drove on the Sunday.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the views and are very light but were a bit noisy on Saturday night from...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nethergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Kenmare Bay Hotel. I was very pleased to see that both you and your brother's family enjoyed all of your stays with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the accommodation and of course your meal in our Bay Restaurant also. Kenmare is a great base from which to explore the Ring of Kerry, I do hope you enjoyed some of the beautiful scenery the route has to offer on your travels.

On behalf of all the staff and I, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would very much like he opportunity to welcome you back to Kenmare in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely Hotel and staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice and ensuite was great with a fabulous power shower.. Breakfast was hot and tasty and the dining room had lovely views. The town of Kenmare was a 5 mins stroll away and i must say a beautiful town it is... Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms to front seem to be quieter..
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take the take in the lovely hillside and mountain views from our restaurant. I wholeheartedly agree Kenmare is a beautiful town and is certainly worth a visit for anyone in the area.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we very much would welcome the opportunity to have you back to stay with us in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My family recently visited the Health Club and we were very impressed. My daughter was a bit cautious of the water but a lifeguard called Laura came over and gave her a float and encouraged her to try it. She really took an interest in my daughters enjoyment and I felt it really left a good impression on us. We ended up having a really fun visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Corklady09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to visit our Leisure facilities and for writing your review on your experience.
I am glad that you enjoyed it, I will be sure to pass on your regards to Laura and I hope that your daughter continues to gain confidence in the water!

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in a room on the second floor. The room itself was fine, but it was very noisy during the early hours of the morning. Obviously friends/family were staying in adjacent rooms on the floor, and they were in and out of each others rooms at very unsociable times from 5.15 a.m. onwards, talking and laughing very loudly, banging the doors continuously, with no regard whatsoever for other guests.
The spa was very pleasant except for the behaviour of children from 5 to early teens who were allowed to dive and jump into the pool from the sides continuously, shouting and screaming, and splashing everybody else in the pool and surrounding areas, which prohibited the enjoyment of swimmers and other adults using the pool.

These children/teenagers were totally unsupervised. The staff seem to think this was totally acceptable, and were chatting near the pool area at times when this was going on, and totally ignored it., From a health and safety viewpoint, it was also extremely dangerous behaviour.

There were children as young as 5 using the jacussi, eventhough this is for over 18s. I don't think the staff at reception in the spa area have a view of the jacussi or the whole pool area, but they had a clear view of the area that was being used for diving and jumping.

The hotel can be family friendly, but not at the expense of other adults, who obey the rules set down.

In my opinion the staff should have approached these children and told them that this type of behaviour was not allowed, and to cease immediately. Where were the parents/guardians of these children? The staff member is seated with his/her back to the spa area, and is relying on a camera, I presume, to see what is going on. There were times when there was no staff member in the spa reception area.

The restaurant and bar areas were excellent and staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check if group or family/friends occuping several rooms adjacent to yours.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit. Sue the receptionist was extremely helpful. Located five minutes walk outside Kenmare town perfect for a evening stroll. Breakfast was well laid out and soooo tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noeleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your breakfast so much and that you found our location here so suitable for your stay. I will be sure to pass on your regards to Sue.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in a self catering house which was very comfortable. The kids loved the pool which had toys and a small slide in it. I found the leisure centre to be very clean. The play corner in the restaurant was very good idea and our kids enjoyed it.
The free wifi is very handy. It is a short, pleasant stroll into the town from the hotel. We would recommend this hotel to anyone with small kids and we will be back.

A special thanks to the manager Andrew who helped us out when one of our kids required first aid and then drove us to the local doctor. He eased what would have been a very stressful situation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your self catering stay with us. I was pleased to see that the children enjoyed the pool you found the accommodation and other amenities so suitable for your needs.

We pride ourselves on being a family friendly establishment and I always aim to personally ensure that our guests needs are met when any guest requires first aid treatment or attention of any kind. In regard to this I do hope that your child is feeling much better.

We very much look forward to seeing you and your family back in Kenmare in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Rees
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
970 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
948 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,300 reviews
13.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort

Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: £66 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort. Tucked into one of the most picturesque corners of the Wild Atlantic Way, the multi-award winning Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the ideal retreat for exploring the gems of the Ring of Kerry and the Beara Peninsula, hosting your perfect wedding, or relaxing with friends & family. Situated on the Sneem road, just a few minutes' walk from the charming shops, pubs and gourmet delights of Kenmare Town, the Kenmare Bay Hotel is great place to unwind, with a state-of-the-art leisure centre equipped with pool, gym, jacuzzi and sauna. Whether you stay in the hotel itself in our standard or superior rooms or in one of our self-catering Luxury Lodges or Holiday Homes, you are assured of exceptional comfort, friendly service from our staff, and a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort is the one that visitors return to again and again. Once you've stayed here, you'll discover why ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing