We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Wander Inn

The Wander Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wander Inn
Ranked #39 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have stayed here many times over the last few years. The rooms are clean and reasonably priced for a tourist town like Kenmare. The bar is ok and the staff are friendly enough. I would stay here again and recommend for those on a budget. All in all good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hackneyflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

the wander inn has good value clean accommodation with everything you need, we stayed on a room only basis but you have the choice as the bar and restaurant are awaiting you downstairs, the location is in town so everything is on your doorstep, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: request a quiet room as there is a lot of live music in bar at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but were lured into the pub by live music that started early. Two fiddlers and an Irish flutist, all young women, were playing contentedly to a nearly empty bar. We ordered our pints, found comfortable seats, and settled in. After a while two families visiting from the States wandered in. The daughters, age 2 to about 10, took Irish dance lessons and wanted to dance to the music. A table was moved aside, the musicians asked the girls if they wanted a reel or a jig, and away they went. The girls danced to their hearts content with the fiddlers watching and adjusting their playing to match the ability of the dancers. It was an evening those girls will never forget. Generosity, goodwill, and genuine applause were in abundance. The music and dancing drew in more customers who seemed to enjoy it just as much as we did. If you want a noisy, crowded pub, this may not be the place for you. If you want a cozy, friendly place to rest awhile with a good pint and early music this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was a great place to stay. Close to all the night life. Rooms were very big and spotless. Very comfortable beds. Comfortable sleep. Very quiet. A lively bar down stairs with great music. Ensuite was huge but the smell of smoke was a bit off putting. Very good value for money and would stay here again. They don't serve breakfast but this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Recently stayed here for a hen party. The rooms are clean and tidy. The location is perfect, right in the centre of town. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great pub downstairs with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoekoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The double room had a very small double bed that was too soft and made with cheap ill fitting bedding. The noise from the street was so bad we got up and left at 8:30am even though we didn't get to bed til after 3. I even got up at one stage to close the window only to discover it wasn't open. It was decorated like a spare room in a student house. €80 for a poor double room with no breakfast I felt was really bad value. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladywhoknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

this place is ideal great location rooms are spacious and well kept,bar downstairs is good for a drink before bed plenty of bars around music again cant fault the place and the food is great to, should say they dont do breakfast,go to the atlantic hotel for that round the corner.

Room Tip: great place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atjmtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
0.3 mi away
The Brass Lantern
The Brass Lantern
#33 of 61 in Kenmare
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wander Inn

Address: 2 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing