We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a great find”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

we had not reserved and it was getting late and just happened on the hotel. We had a small but comfortable room in the lower part of the hotel but it was quiet and perfect for a night. the breakfast was good, one of the best of the trip. What made this place special was the help of the person at the reception. She took the time to help us find the place we were planning to go to the following night. She called around until she found the place, called it to get their rates, then helped us with that reservation. That is going beyond normal service. thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    78
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
107
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This place is great. Been in the same family for years, and it shows. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable of the whole area. Rooms were nice and spacious enough for me at 6'3" and my roommate at 6'5" so no complaints on that front. Bar was good, and Guinness was lovely, though we had to wait a few minutes at really busy times. They had a band on Saturday night and we borrowed their guitar for a singsong afterwards.
Breakfast was a very a la carte affair, where you can choose between full Irish, healthy porridge with local honey, local kippers, cereals etc. The whole selection was lovely and fresh.
I would have no hesitation recommending this place to anyone. Sure, the staff are busy sometimes, and it may take a few minutes to get served, but if you're in that much of a hurry, you've kinda missed the point of south west Ireland. Chill out and enjoy. Slainte.

Room Tip: We had room 108 which had two very comfortable singles and looked out over the car park. Not the mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macduff83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We really enjoyed Kenmare - a very quaint town near the bay. The Lansdowne Inn is the perfect small hotel right in the middle of town. The restaurant has a family feel and we had dancing as entertainment. We were able to wash our clothes at a laundromat across the street. We enjoyed the Farmers Market right outside our door. Great shopping, restaurant and music throughout the day and evening.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kbraier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here last week and it was lovely, good sizes portions,and quite tasty, lady in bar who had blond thin hair to her shoulders, was quite misserble and rude, but the young girl with long dark hair that served us was extremely friendly, receptionist didnt acknowledge our present, so all in all food is fab but some staff need manners a smile never hurt anyone

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank foxy1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Chose the Hotel based on its location. You literally walk out the door and Kenmare is in your face! Perfect.
Parking is round he back in he make shift car park, there is a strange area in the car park with a shed and picnic able with bottles and rubbish everywhere. Guys, tidy yup the place a bit!!
Check in took a while simply as there was nobody at front desk. The Woman who checked us in looked and acted like it was a hassle s not a great start.
The room as average, the beds were probably the most uncomfortable we have ever TRIED to sleep on.
The bar attached is probably the highlight, good staff, good humored, good service, nice food.
Breakfast was very nice, again, staff very good. The staff in question re grumpiness seemed to be management more so.
The Wi-fi only works in the lobby area and is poor anyway.
Overall I would stay somehwere else, there are plenty of beds in kenmare. I feel sorry for Americans staying here more so, they strive themselves on fantastic customer service and I would dread them experiencing the welcome we got!!

Room Tip: Ask them to chose a different Hotel for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishDave2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Spent 1 night in Kenmare as a starting point for the Ring of Kerry. Was looking for a B&B, but decided on this more traditional hotel instead. Very friendly staff; great staff; room was huge and comfortable, but a little dated. Location was perfect. Excellent pub attached; ate dinner there -- great lamb stew. It was a little noisy later on, but it was Saturday night of a 3-day holiday weekend, so that's to be expected. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland_of_StL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed one night in Kenmare at the Lansdowne Arms but wish we'd stayed another day. Kenmare is a lively town in a beautiful area. The hotel is ideally located in the town with the heart of the town a two minute walk. Although an older "stately" hotel, the Lansdowne Arms has a charm about it. Our room overlooked Main Street and its décor was rather basic but very spacious, comfortable and clean. We arrived in the late afternoon which made for a tight fit in the car park but we managed to squeeze in. Dinner and entertainment in the bar that evening was outstanding.

We hope someday to return to Kenmare and when we do we'll stay again at the Lansdowne Arms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.5 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Arms Hotel

Property: Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Address: William Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lansdowne Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Arms Kenmare
Hotel Lansdowne Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing