We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true character”
Review of Sallyport House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sallyport House
Ranked #4 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If it is comfort, peace, a good nights sleep and a good breakfast you are looking for then look no further. Add to that a house of full of wonderful character and attention to detail and a hands on history guide to the whole area and that of the house and you have the perfect get away and it can all be found here. We just loved it and we will be back. A short stroll to town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peglimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

From the moment we entered this beautifully appointed house and met Janey, we were happy to be there. We had a spacious, lovely room with a wonderful view of the garden and park out back which we loved strolling through every night on the way to Kenmare, a charming town with fabulous restaurants . Janey not only recommended several, but also made our reservations for us every night. The breakfast offered wonderful fruits and eggs and the smoked salmon was the best I've ever had. We followed Janey's and John's advice to drive on the ring of Beara, which was full of majestic scenery, and were happy we did. It was a memorable, magical stay. We recommend Sallyport House most highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Sallyport House is a very special place. I had no idea wonderful it would be - pictures don't do it justice. It is one of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed. The house itself is gorgeous, filled with antiques. Every window has a beautiful view - of fields, the bay, and the park. Our room was huge, with a large bathroom and a sitting room that looked out onto the water. It's a short walk into town, you can take the street or go through the gate into the park. Sallyport is adjacent to Reenagross park, where you can stroll through the woods, near the bay, there's even a bat sanctuary. Go the other direction, and you can walk out onto the pier. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly, with great recommendations for dinner in town. They also recommended the Ring of Beara drive which was amazing. Breakfast was delicious - French-press coffee too! Thank you for a wonderful stay in Kenmare.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Sallyport house for 2 nights while exploring Ireland's south coast peninsulas. It was an excellent home base for us. The room was large, well appointed and very quiet. The short walk into Kenmare is delightful. Our host was very helpful and gave us good advice about our sightseeing. Breakfast was delicious, as well. You can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: We had a view of the rear garden, which was lovely. The room had a separate sitting area, as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barb072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Spacious rooms, newer bathrooms, lots of hot water and generous breakfasts with fresh fruit and traditional Irish breakfast fare. Very friendly hosts. We had no lounge but the room was quite large.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of the bay, back rooms have a garden view, all are quiet in this solidly bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent three nights at Sallyport and from the first second we met Janey and her sister Siobhan, we felt like we were at home. The beautiful elegant home has every comfort, home cooked breakfast was wonderful, and most of all, the conversation was always comfortable and gracious.
The hosts were full of excellent advice about exploring and eating. Best of all was that Sallyport is close enough to walk to downtown Kenmare but just out of the way enough for gorgeous garden and bay views from all windows. Don't miss this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annewilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This beautiful home, within walking distance of "downtown" Kenmare, was one of our favorite B&B for our 21-day Irish holiday. Our room (like our friends who traveled with us) consisted of a small lounge and a large bedroom and a spacious bathroom. Very posh, we thought. I thought it the perfect place to come just for a relaxing week (and not the hectic touring that we did), so I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captcalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
961 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 61 in Kenmare
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sallyport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sallyport House

Address: Sallyport House, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sallyport House stands on the shores of the Kenmare River, in the far south of County Kerry, is known to those in the locality. It is a delightful Edwardian house in a really spectacular location, right on the edge of the harbor, surrounded by parkland and trees, and by Reenagross Woodland Park, yet still just minutes away from the center of busy Kenmare town, the most south-easterly point on the renowned Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing