We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great B&B in excellent location”
Review of Sallyport House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sallyport House
Ranked #4 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My girlfriend and I spent the long weekend here and loved it.

The B&B is in the perfect location... a short walk to the centre of the town, but also the perfect base to start a driving tour of the Iveragh or Beara peninsulas.

The breakfast (vegetarian omelette, full Irish or salmon with eggs) was really nice and the house itself is beautiful.

The bedroom was large and we could see the start of the bay from our window. We had a really peaceful sleep both nights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EmmettU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Sallyport House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We often stay in Kenmare but have never discovered this little gem before. It is a large house a short walk from town, very quiet, overlooking the river (Room 2). Spotlessly clean, a mix of honey coloured antiques and soft yellow walls, the rooms are beautiful and a good size. There was soap and shower gel in the bathroom. Sheets were soft and silky and towels were fresh and clean. The breakfast was the best ever. The only negative was that Channels 1 to 7 were all Channel 4 and ITV was on Channel 27! However we will definitely return on our next stay in Kenmare.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good to us, but make sure you have a scenic view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaveTheBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If it is comfort, peace, a good nights sleep and a good breakfast you are looking for then look no further. Add to that a house of full of wonderful character and attention to detail and a hands on history guide to the whole area and that of the house and you have the perfect get away and it can all be found here. We just loved it and we will be back. A short stroll to town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peglimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

From the moment we entered this beautifully appointed house and met Janey, we were happy to be there. We had a spacious, lovely room with a wonderful view of the garden and park out back which we loved strolling through every night on the way to Kenmare, a charming town with fabulous restaurants . Janey not only recommended several, but also made our reservations for us every night. The breakfast offered wonderful fruits and eggs and the smoked salmon was the best I've ever had. We followed Janey's and John's advice to drive on the ring of Beara, which was full of majestic scenery, and were happy we did. It was a memorable, magical stay. We recommend Sallyport House most highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Sallyport House is a very special place. I had no idea wonderful it would be - pictures don't do it justice. It is one of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed. The house itself is gorgeous, filled with antiques. Every window has a beautiful view - of fields, the bay, and the park. Our room was huge, with a large bathroom and a sitting room that looked out onto the water. It's a short walk into town, you can take the street or go through the gate into the park. Sallyport is adjacent to Reenagross park, where you can stroll through the woods, near the bay, there's even a bat sanctuary. Go the other direction, and you can walk out onto the pier. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly, with great recommendations for dinner in town. They also recommended the Ring of Beara drive which was amazing. Breakfast was delicious - French-press coffee too! Thank you for a wonderful stay in Kenmare.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Sallyport house for 2 nights while exploring Ireland's south coast peninsulas. It was an excellent home base for us. The room was large, well appointed and very quiet. The short walk into Kenmare is delightful. Our host was very helpful and gave us good advice about our sightseeing. Breakfast was delicious, as well. You can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: We had a view of the rear garden, which was lovely. The room had a separate sitting area, as well.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barb072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Spacious rooms, newer bathrooms, lots of hot water and generous breakfasts with fresh fruit and traditional Irish breakfast fare. Very friendly hosts. We had no lounge but the room was quite large.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of the bay, back rooms have a garden view, all are quiet in this solidly bui...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.9 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 61 in Kenmare
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sallyport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sallyport House

Address: Sallyport House, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sallyport House stands on the shores of the Kenmare River, in the far south of County Kerry, is known to those in the locality. It is a delightful Edwardian house in a really spectacular location, right on the edge of the harbor, surrounded by parkland and trees, and by Reenagross Woodland Park, yet still just minutes away from the center of busy Kenmare town, the most south-easterly point on the renowned Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing