We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”
Review of Shelburne Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shelburne Lodge
Ranked #8 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

This has to be the highlight of our trip around Ireland. Kenmare is a great town and the Shelburne Lodge is simply grand. Built in 1760, this place just oozes history and charm.
Set in beautiful gardens, reasonably close to town, the rooms are fantastic and the atmosphere in the lodge is pure old world charm.
The owners and staff are lovely and very welcoming.
The drive around the Ring of Kerry is spectacular and their are more sights to see if you have the time.
If you are anywhere near this part of the south of Ireland, this place should be on your list of places to stay. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintonHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    19
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
48
130
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Higganum, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The owners of the Shelburne, Tom and Moira are some of the most welcoming people I have met. In a country of very friendly people they are at the top. My father and I stayed here one night while while traveling through Ireland. Tom greeted us and chatted for the few minutes it too to prepare our room. Moira was a delight and as it turns out her brother owns a restaurant not to far from my home. The room was of average size for the B&B's we were staying in and clean. The breakfast menu was more extensive than most places we stayed and the food fantastic. Kenmare is a beautiful town and I wish I had more time to spend there. I will be back to the Shelburne.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Staying at the Shelburne Lodge you feel like you have taken a trip back into the elegant 1920's of the privileged and wealthy (with the anomaly of enjoying good WiFi). The rooms are large and comfortable - each one unique. The public areas are warm, luxurious and comfortable. The owners are extremely knowledgeable about local restaurants and attractions and are happy to be helpful. It is a grand county house with the best Irish breakfast we had during our two week stay in Ireland. We also did both the Ring of Kerry and the Ring of Beara. Both were interesting but the Ring of Beara is certainly more scenic.

Room Tip: If you have a problem climbing steps you don't want to be on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJBKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Relax and sip tea before a crackling wood fire in the drawing room of this grand country home.
Walk the beautifully landscaped grounds. Delightfully decorated spacious, spotless rooms, a fine breakfast to start your day. The owners have loads of information on the sites of Kenmare. On site parking is a bonus. The lodge is a short walk to the city center. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights during a golf tour of Ireland and the Lodge was perfect. Rooms great, sitting room wonderful for evening gathering, outside patio lovely. The only issue we had was it's a 10 minute walk into town.
The breakfast was over the top good----best on our entire trip. I had dover sole for breakfast the 2nd morning and it was the best fish I've had in my life!!!!
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I really cannot add much more than what people have said before. This is a wonderful place to stay in Kenmare. About a 10 minute walk to the town center. As many have said before, breakfast is great. If you are going to Kenmare, this is where you want to stay. Also, if your time is limited in this area, skip the Ring of Kerry and go to the Ring of Beara. It will be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsims74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We will certainly be back to this truly wonderful B&B ...(although the title B&B does not do it justice). The hosts are just amazing, the house beautiful, the location perfect .... but the best of all is the truly wonderful breakfast and the star of the show was the beautiful fresh compote.... you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
950 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.0 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 61 in Kenmare
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#7 of 61 in Kenmare
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Lodge

Property: Shelburne Lodge
Address: Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Shelburne Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing