We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size room”
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge
Ranked #18 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in the Honeysuckle family room for one night, the room was large and very comfortable. The location was just off the main street and very walkable to town. The breakfast was great with lots of food selections and linen tablecloth and napkins! The Lodge was very quiet we thought we were only guests but discovered at breakfast there were quiet a few guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretduggan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We found The Lodge in Kenmare via Expedia and were pleased they offered a family room option that could accommodate four adults. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly and very capable young man of about 12 or 13. He checked us in, gave us our room keys, and even offered recommendations for restaurants in town.

The room itself was spacious enough for four adults and spectacularly clean. The ornate bathroom was so clean it was almost like nothing I had seen before. It was fully tiled and adorned with classical fixtures and it was so clean it almost glowed. Quite impressive.

Breakfast was outstanding and the women working in the dining room were all as nice as can be.

We took a bit of a leap of faith in booking this, but were greatly rewarded and were very pleased. Thanks for a great night in beautiful Kenmare.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsb616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Arrived later in the day. Rose's son Matthew checked us in. He made us feel welcome and was able to recommend restuarant/pub in Kenmare for us to have a late dinner. Room had 2 double size beds, Very comfortable. It was very clean and cozy. Had to leave before Breakfast was to be served, but Rose insisted that she serve us tea and coffee anyway. Would have loved to had the time to spend another night there. Within walking distance to the center of town. If your in the area to drive the Ring of Kerry, perfect place to begin from.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eile15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Loved staying here and Rosemary the host was so delightful and helpful with suggestions for travel and restaurants. Spacious rooms and a great breakfast. Would highly recommend staying here to explore the area.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank janet n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed for a night in May enroute from Killarney to Dingle while doing the ring of Kerry. Nice spacious room. Rooms are old charm but still have modern amenities. Short distance to the town center. Quiet & opposite to a golf course. Big tub + shower in the bath room; Great breakfast. Friendly host. Great spring off to Ring of kerry. Thank you Rose for a pleasant stay.
Cheers,
Vish.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are good. Don't know about rear facing...there is a garden in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ez_Rider_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Extremely comfortable and spacious rooms does not luxury make. Instant coffee, tea in tea bags and dodgy mass-produced jams are not 4 star ingredients. There is no excuse, as Ireland seems generally aware of what decent coffee is, and there are locally made jams plentiful as rain clouds.

The wi-fi was "down", with no offer to assist, suggest alternatives, or even offer a discount. Blasé attitude, unexciting and ordinary compared with the faux mansion style interiors.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaliwanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Lodge is a beautiful B&B about 3min walk outside kenmare town. On arrival we were greeted by the Wonderful owner Rose Quill she was so warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We stayed for 3 nights and our stay was excellent. Fabulous bedroom, bathroom was decorated beautifully, bed was especially comfortable.Breakfast every morning was Great. All food was fresh and i especially loved the scones! All staff were friendly and very helpful.
we are already planning a return trip ;)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
14.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.3 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: Kilgarvan Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £56 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing