We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special views we remember fondly”
Review of Gleninchaquin

Gleninchaquin
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a small business, principally running a commercial sheep farm. We also have a passion for nature, the countryside and conservation. We embrace both business & tourism in an effort to make your experience of Ireland a memorable one. Agri-Tourism, Eco-Tourism, we warmly welcome you here. We are a private park, we maintain everything at our own expense which is why we make a small charge on entry. There is much of Kerry that is inaccessible, our park offers access through well maintained paths together with facilities as you may expect at any attraction. Washrooms, wheelchair access and much more. All of this takes funds to maintain and to enhance your experience here on Beara.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Special views we remember fondly”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have read some of the varied reviews. We found this to be the place we keep remembering with a smile after the whole trip in 2008. Enjoy the unusual sheep (heritage types, I believe) -- see them up close. We didn't do major hikes, but thoroughly enjoyed the walking path by the falls. We really look forward to returning and allowing more time so we can do some good hikes. It is well worth the little fee -- is it 6 euros? Maybe strollers would be hard on the walks? The road to get there was one lane with turn-outs, but not very traveled in September -- well worth the drive for us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovelyViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    56
    9
    6
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a glorious hike!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We found out about Gleninchaquin Park from Eclipse Activity, Adventure and Equestrian Center. My husband and I were blown away from the drive into the park. We hiked up and over Inchiquin Falls and it was a good aggressive hike. The views all along the way made each and every step worth the sweat. This was my third trip to Ireland and this was some of the most spectacular scenery yet. Fantastic!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Most magnificent waterfall and hike I have experienced yet in Ireland”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This was pretty out of the way for the ring of Kerry trip, but we wanted to get off the beaten path. It's 6 eur to get in and completely worth it. Most waterfalls do not have so many facets and cannot be found out in the open next to grazing sheep and horses. The setting alone was great and the waterfall made it spectacular. A must see in Ireland!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RN2travel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gleninchaquin Park. Worst experience ever”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

STAY WELL CLEAR OF THE PARK - OFFENSIVE OWNERS

We drove along a road looking at some lakes taking the two grandchildren for a drive so they could get some sleep and thought we would look closer at the lakes just outside Kenmare apparently near the above park. We drove along and then found ourselves at the point of what I presume is the park entry point. We stopped just before a car in a lay-by and this guy leapt out of the car and came over to us. Appearing initially to have just a rather pushy manner we asked if the farm was a working farm suitable to bring our grandchildren to. He replied strangely that of course it was and that it was private property. He asked if we were going in and we said not today. That is when his manner changed - so you expect to drive up here and do a three point turn without paying ........ We were astounded at his manner. He the started shouting at us despite us having two 2 year old children sleeping in the back. No matter what we said in polite response he got ruder and more offensive. My wife said to him there is no need to be rude and he then let rip at her. We were actually quite scared not knowing what we had let ourselves in for or whether he was about to physically attack us so offensive was his manner. Had he not been in a car with Park Signs on it one may have thought we were about to be mugged. He told my wife she had a camera and therefore she should pay up. She pointed out she had not got a camera (has never owned one) and what he was pointing at in the car was her phone. He told us we should never have turned off the main road if we were not going to pay making out he owned all the land and road from there which we now know he does not. We had not seen any sign. We reversed away with him shouting still. Unbelievable! Well that was not the end of it. About a mile down the road we stopped in a road widening to recover ourselves at what had happened only to think we had blocked the road or something because a car behind was hooting. No it was him again he got out of his car and shouted ' you are for it now this is my private property' We drove off with him following 100m behind.

We should perhaps have called the police in hindsight but did go to the tourist office in Kenmare the next morning. There was no surprise there it was made clear and we wrote out a complaint about it. We were told there were many complaints made but there is little they can do and wished more people put complaints in writing. He actually came in while we were writing it but the assistant said - that is why we went quiet if we say anything to him we get the same rude treatment. Again unbelievable, why do they still promote his leaflets?

Over the next day we found many locals saying the same about him letting down the areal and being a money grabber but nobody does anything about it. Sadly we have now cancelled our family plans for 10 of us to return to what was a very nice accommodations but my wife would only be reminded of the worst holiday experience we have ever had anywhere spoiling an otherwise lovely visit.

As many other reviewers have said, it is not worth the money anyway and they are a let down to the normal wonderful Irish hospitality but you don't realise till too late.

EXPENSIVE AND POOR VALUE AVOID THE PARK AND RUDE OWNERS

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
30 Thank gaforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Magnificent hikes”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Four of us went from Kenmare to Gleninchquin on a cloudy, misty day. The Irish weather didn't ruin our day. The walks and hikes were wonderful and Donald, the land owner, drove those of us who couldn't make he trek up the hillside to ensure we had the view from the top.
The road into the site is a few miles long, narrow and quite winding, but it's worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gleninchaquin also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Gleninchaquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing