We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish & chips”

Whartons Traditional Fish & Chips
Ranked #19 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout
Description: "Kenmare, in Co Kerry, has its unfair share of places to eat, but you'll miss one of its finest attractions if you confine yourself to the restaurants that feature in guide books. Wharton's Traditional Fish & Chips, in the town centre, is a gem. My cod was encased in the finest, lightest batter, into which crushed black peppercorns had been incorporated. It was so fresh I swear I saw it twitch as it hit the oil. The chips are hand-cut from potatoes that are, amazingly, chosen for their "fryability". And they have cider vinegar if you fancy a change from the stuff you usually get in chippers..." Tom Doorley (Irish Times)
Ireland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Excellent fresh fish plus mountains of tasty chips. No more needs to be said. Wish we had one near us....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    29
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ridiculously tasty”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

So I'm in the Hotel Europe and get chatting to a lovely girl who tells me to check out Whartons while I'm in Bantry-my god-whatta recommendation!
I rarely enjoy a chipper but the fresh fish, light batter & the chunky, crunchy chips are in a different league. Whartons is a true taste of holidays. Just do it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PenEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The fish was very fresh and tasted great, worth a visit. In my opinion it was highly priced for fish and chips but can't fault the taste and quality.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank apkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy at home
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Such a great surprise”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Limited choice of cod, hake or whiting but so fresh it was really good with a light batter. Friendly service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
581 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Good Value Meal”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We ate in the Bantry branch of Whartons a bright clean contemporary style restaurant.The service was excellent, prompt, efficient and friendly. The chips were cooked to perfection in clean oil and the fish portion was equally good, well prepared and tasty. An all round enjoyable experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whartons Traditional Fish & Chips also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Whartons Traditional Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing