We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Davitts Restaurant

Davitts Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I rapidly ran out of superlatives as soon as the starters arrived. I kid you not, this is probably the best meal we have ever had. If you come to Kenmare, do not leave without eating at Davitts

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    129
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

At the bar, no table free, € 21.50 for a small seafood platter worth €12 and € 5.60 for a glass of white wine !!, all good but not outstanding. Very noisy. Reasonably good espresso, a rarity in Ireland.
Typically for Irish establishments in 2014, prices for food and accommodation are mostly still 20% higher than desired by tourists.
Furthermore, as too many Irish establishments boost their ratings to undeserved fabulous and superb; read their poor ratings too and relativise before booking. Quality, service and friendliness are not 20% better than elsewhere and for the natural beauty you pay dearly by left hand driving on bumpy, narrow, hazardous roads.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramsay_bocuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davitts_11, Owner at Davitts Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
You sound as if you had a bad experience in Ireland in general. Sorry that you found so many negatives. We try our best , our prices are about the same as other places in the area. We would be one of the most value for money restaurants in Kenmare. You did order 1 of our most expensive dishes. I hope that you will be turned around by the beauty of our landscapes,people &hospitality. Try to be happier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good meal - worth going back”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

First of all we only had dinner and drinks and did not stay in the guesthouse area.

My wife and I found it hard to choose what to eat as they have a great menu. We selected a Sirlion steak and Fish & Chips and completely enjoyed our meal. We had another couple join us and a good time was had by all.

We were charged an extra beer and extra wine but decided it best to let it slide as the meal and service was top notch.

We will again visit Davitts when we return to Kenmare in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Friendly faces, good food, Irish hospitality--who could ask for more? We left something behind and they were so kind to carefully hold it for us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dede M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal Nice Atmosphere Great Service”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were given a list of restaurants in Kenmare to visit by our B and B. We ate at Davitts on Friday of the busy June Bank Holiday in Ireland. We spent 12 wonderful days touring all over Ireland and our experience at Davitts was at the top of the list. The menu includes fish, beef, chicken, lamb, pasta and vegetarian dishes - all made with fresh ingredients. I tried the baked salmon served with fresh vegetables and potatoes. The sauce was outstanding. My husband who is hard to please ordered a penne chicken pasta and raved about it. Ingredients were incredibly fresh. Each dish was presented in an artistic fashion. The prices were very reasonable. The bar selection very good. The desert selection was also outstanding. Service was warm and welcoming. Great music - beginning at 7 pm with an Irish duet playing in the background while we ate. About 20 people gathered at that time just for music and the bar. There is a larger seating area in the back for big groups and tables for 2, 4, 6 or 8 in the front. The staff handled the large crowd well. We loved Ireland and Kenmare and will go back to Davitts again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 404Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Davitts Restaurant also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Davitts Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing