We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but a bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe
Ranked #24 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Chose to stay here based on other reviews we had read. Good proximity to the town and pretty from the outside. Inside, the decor was dated and lacked the personal touch that other B&Bs we have stayed in offered. The owner was pleasant but quite reserved and not much chat! Rooms offered the basics and were clean. We had been drawn to this place after reading other reviews about the pastries - however, in the morning there were cereals left out and then we were offered a fry. Believing this was our only option we took it, only to later see others getting pastries - we were never offered this and so felt we missed out. Overall, disappointed after reading such good reviews, probably not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank los_robbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

We made reservations for 5 rooms for our group of 9 and stayed three nights. The new owners (since 2010), Vladimira and Jerome, made wonderful, friendly and pleasant hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. We were welcomed (arriving from the Cork Airport) with coffee and enjoyed delicious pastries. Jerome is a French pastry chef and must bake the best baguettes and pastries in all of Kenmare! Local people stop by for a quick lunch or just to buy some of their delicious breads or pastries. Unfortunately, we did not get to try all of their pastries and quiches, so we'll have to come back for more! Breakfast is delicious with lots of choices, whether you like Irish breakfast or croissants and bread. The rooms were nice and clean with fresh towels every day. It's location is only a short walk (about 10 minutes) from Kenmare town centre. Great value for your money! Thank you, we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maya_luttikhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The owners made us feel very welcome and always had a smile and a greeting and nothing was too much trouble for them.There is ample off road parking within a large garden. Rooms were very clean and breakfast was excellent, as were the scrumptious pastries baked on the premises. Kenmare town centre is less than a 10 minute walk, so you can leave the car and have a drink and enjoy the traditional music in the numerous pubs Kenmare has to offer!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2005vam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The Rosegarden B&B is delightful, and it is also unique because it is part of a French bakery and cafe. Jerome is the French chef and Vladimira seems to be in charge of everything else. They make a great team, and they work very hard to keep their customers happy.
Our room was in the back, very quiet. It was spacious, comfortable, and pleasantly decorated. I did not find a hairdryer, but I suspect Vladimira would have loaned me one had I asked. There was free parking, and wi-fi was available in the cafe area.
Breakfast was one of the best we had in Ireland. The full, hearty Irish breakfast was accompanied with not just brown bread, but also a fresh-out-of-the-oven French baguette.The continental breakfast included an assortment of mouthwatering pastries. There was no problem in customizing my breakfast to combine a taste of both! And there was so much to eat (help-yourself cereal. yogurt,and fruit), we were well satisfied until dinner time.
We stayed 3 pleasant nights, and it was not enough time to sample all of the delectable goodies that came from Jerome's kitchen.
The lesson learned from our experience? If you have an opportunity to stay at a B&B run by a French chef, take it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HuaMulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The place is owned by a french couple who bake all their pastries and bread onsite. The pastries are extremely good and reasonably priced.
We were welcomed with a cup of coffee when we arrived. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was superb. Not surprising as the chap is a french chef. We were only passing through but it would be an ideal spot to stay for a week and really see the area.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank John_Stephens069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Lovely B&B in Kenmare (about 5-10min walk to the city centre). Rooms are nice, the hosts are friendly - and breakfast is incredible! If you love pastry, you should definitely go for the continental breakfast. One of the hosts is a pastry chef, so breakfast will include fresh baguette, pain au chocolat, croissants and other pastry. As one of the other guests put it: "the best smelling B&B in Ireland"...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We arrived in Kenmare in the middle of our 8 day cycling trip, and boy oh boy, were the fresh pastries ever a treat! The B&B itself is nice, and located only a short 10 min. walk from the centre of Kenmare. Amenities were plenty, athough the decor was a bit too washed out Provencial for my liking. There is a nice lawn out front to play a quick game of footie too. And the hostess was brilliant... she asked her daughter to bring out some toys for our toddler to play with! But best of all is the fresh pastry and baked goods. What an amazing breakfast! If you're cycling through Kenmare, then this is the place to lodge!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zharik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
979 reviews
13 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
SheenView B&B
SheenView B&B
#28 of 61 in Kenmare
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 61 in Kenmare
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avelow House
Avelow House
#17 of 61 in Kenmare
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe

Address: Rose Garden Sneem Road | Gortamullen, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £57 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing