We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Kenmare”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #11 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Kenmare”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We arrived to Hawthorn house with a bit of room confusion (totally understandable circumstance and Mary was very kind in handling it!) The room was of a good size and I was very happy to have a hairdryer in the bathroom. This was one of the few places during our trip where I was able to fix my hair in front of a mirror! The location was great... we were within walking distance of shops, restaurants, and even the stone circle. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and the brown bread was some of the best I had in Ireland! The only down side to the stay was the bed (it wasn't very comfortable), but it didn't affect the quality of the stay. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    51
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
143
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked this Bed and Breakfast after reading the many reviews. Kenmare is a charming town. We booked into the family room for 2 nights. Arrived and was horrified by the room. Dirty carpets but what the real problem was "the bathroom". It was disgusting! The shower was so full of mold, I was tempted to wear my shoes in there. The ceiling in the bathroom also had mold all across it. All I really wanted was a gallon of bleach and a scrub brush. And 2 towels. i am paying for a family room with 4 people and mind you a pretty penny(150 euro) for it and 2 towels for us to share. if it hadn't been late when we arrived I would have left then.

Breakfast was good and we met the owner, who was nice and personable but I can live with many things, dated, bad taste but mold, no way! we left that morning, not to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMamaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Hawthorn House was excellent. Nice spacious rooms and baths. This was our first trip to Ireland and a great start. The breakfast was hearty and tasty. Very convenient to town center. I recommend this B & B.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

When we come back to Ireland, we will spend more time in Kenmare, and we will stay at Hawthorne House. Excellent accommodations - great beds, great food, excellent showers, quiet. Perfect location, walking distance to pubs, shops, and the dock. Mary is fabulous - let me borrow her phone twice. Can't wait to go back! Beautiful area, lovely people, and Hawthorne House was perfect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
241 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Mary O'Brien runs an amazing B&B. We stayed three nights and wanted to stay longer. Rooms were spacious and clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect for walking to dinner and music. Mary has a great sense of humor and will give great tips for day trips.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TribTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived in Kenmare without pre-booking accommodation (oops) and was referred to Hawthorn House by another B&B owner when their property was full. Very happy we ended up here, the room was spotlessly clean with nice new bathrooms and an excellent shower!
The breakfast was really yummy with great choices, and Mary and her daughters looked after us very well.
Good location just steps away from the main pub/restaurant street in Kenmare.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed a few nights at this property. The owner was wonderful. The breakfast fantastic. They had the best brown bread in Ireland. The house was lovely and the location excellent for day trips and the town wonderful. the rooms were good size. The linens needed some improvement..

We enjoyed this one. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardenbrook5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.5 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Property: Hawthorn House
Address: Hawthorn House Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing