We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in lovely setting”

The Boathouse Bistro Dromquinna Manor
Ranked #16 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$45
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
IRELAND
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food in lovely setting”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Beautiful place in lovely setting even on miserable day when we visited, welcomed nicely even though we were only people present with young children didn't feel uncomfortable. Good choice on menu we were only looking for small lunch, boys had chowder which was excellent, served with beautiful homemade breads,smaller boy had battered fish fingers & chips which were fab such fresh fish is not usually present on kids menu fare! , I had tasty salmon and haddock fishcake plus lovely glass of very reasonably priced Spanish white- in fact there a little flavour of Spain in most of the menu. The service a little slow, boys chowder arrived a considerable time before mine and little man, but we were on holiday and not in any rush. Overall a lovely experience a little bit special on a wet afternoon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MELLAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    48
    21
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and tasty food”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I ate here recently with my family. The food was very tasty and the staff were friendly and efficient, the prices are slightly higher that they should be, I personally think and the ladies bathroom is not as modern as you would expect, they look dated and in need of a bit of an update.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting by the sea”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A rel find just outside Kenmare. Lovely food served with a smile, and great service. We sat outside and enjoyed the evening sun. The children had a lovely walk and also used the playground. Will return when next in Kenmare for sure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So Disappointing”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had lunch in the Boathouse today Sunday 11. We ate outside lovely weather and staff friendly.
However after order had been placed service was very slow. I had goats cheese and apricot which was lovely, no complaints there.
For main course I chose the cod, It was ok but only warm, My husband had the 10oz ribeye beef, it was so disappointing, presentation was appaling,it looked like it had been served to someone already with several cuts through the meat, the onions were just in a separate pile and portobello mushroom also just there,
My husband ate a little but left most on the plate. The mash potato also left a lot to be desired.
The Maitre'D saw food left on the plate and immediately asked the young waiter to remove the dishes just asking if we were finished.
I can honestly say it was the first time we ever left a restaurant without leaving a tip.
Definately won't be returning

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish186612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Had lunch in the Boat house on friday 9th ..stunning setting...lovely decor..the waitress who showed us to our table was cranky and unfriendly....we were also served by a very nice younger male with impeccible manners.....we both had fish cakes with a side of fries and while we were warned that the dish was very hot we were not warned about the food and i subsequently burned my palate which 24 hrs later is still painful...I paid the same waitress who had shown us to our table earlier and she was as rude as earlier...very disappointing

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Bistro Dromquinna Manor also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Boathouse Bistro Dromquinna Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing