We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“highly recommended for any group or family getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of anam cre house

Exterior Anam Cre House in May
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior Anam Cre House in May
Anam Cre House exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Exterior Anam Cre House in May
Anam Cre House exterior
Mountain dream runs by the house and into the woods
Evening, Kenmare Pier
One of the numerous local lakes,great fishing
Henry street Kenmare ,great for interesting shops
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
stephanie...
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“highly recommended for any group or family getaway”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our party of 11 had a wonderful stay at Anam Cre House. The house is beautifully decorated and comfortably furnished with a large open plan kitchen and sitting room ideal for entertaining. The large balcony was perfect for bbqs and breakfasts and could easily have accomodated 20 people.
Anne the friendly helpful owner met us on arrival and gave us a quick run through of the facilities.
The seven bedrooms meant that 8 of our family shared a twin room and 3 people got their own room.
Amazingly it worked out as only 13 euro per person per night when the bill was worked out. We would have got it a bit cheaper too if we had got one extra person to come.
The house has stunning views of nearby mountains and feels like unspoilt counyryside even though we were only three miles from Kenmare town. We hiked up the mountains behind the house in a walk that took about an hour and a half and were rewarded with stunning views of Kenmare Bay and the Macgillicuddy Reeks, looking down the ring of Kerry and Beara that we explored later in the week by car.
Kenmare was a delightful place to be based in with a huge choice of great restaurants. Packies on Henry St was truly memorable. Also a great town for music. PF McCarthys great for live music and we found some brilliant traditional music in Crowleys pub.
I could not recommend Anam Cre House more highly, clean, bright and tastefully decorated. One thing I would say is that is definately necessary to have a car if your staying here as the steep hill up Ballygriffin valley would be a long walk after a night out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spacious house and enchanted surroundings
Liked least: shortness of our stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette S
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location but the property in need of a good clean, ANAM CRE clean up your act.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Sharing the rental for the week were 6 adults, 2 teenagers, 2 children and 1 baby 15 months old. Directions to the property were very good, the location was beautiful and so too was the house itself. The house was large enough so that we never felt overcrowded and Kenmare was only a short drive away which was great. The 7 bedrooms were all ensuite but there was no bath in the property for bathing the baby. The property is 3 storey but there were no safety gates on any of the stairs. Sockets were left uncovered and wiring was exposed in the main living area. The building itself and the surrounding yard and garden is really not suitable for young children, supervised or otherwise. Overall cleanliness of the property was our biggest concern and major disappointment. It needs a good clean from top to bottom and a fresh coat of paint inside. There were hairs in all of the shower basins, dirt and dust in most areas downstairs. There was an unpleasant odour in the air of old furniture and every night the house seemed to fill with flies and moths, and not because we were leaving doors and windows open. Upstairs bedrooms and downstairs bedrooms were cleaner however all of the rugs really needed a good wash and vacum. Half way throught the week the lights in the kitchen/living area stopped working. We rang and left a message for the landlord but the issue was left unresolved. We felt that the fabric covered settee in the downstairs living area needed to be replaced, it smelled terrible and was very dirty. We recycled our rubbish as we were asked to do however we were charged 6euro for the black plastic bag needed by us to dispose of dirty nappies. Once again ,it is a beautiful house in a beautiful part of the country but the property is in serious need of a professional clean and some TLC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
Libellous Fabrications

A potential customer has invited me to respond to the criticisms posted on the 18th of August on Tripadvisor. I was previously unaware of this sugared package of negative make-believe and was shocked, hurt and saddened by it. Tripadvisor is, for better or worse, unable to substantiate reviews and in this case unfortunately we have fallen prey to someone who was probably having a bad baby week.
Anam Cre is a beautiful, clean house in an enchanting environment ; I have always taken pride in presenting it to each new customer in immaculate condition; a team of conscientious cleaners headed by myself spend about 6 hours on a Saturday restoring it to pristine condition between customers. We do not leave dirt in the rooms or hairs in the showers; nor does the house or furniture smell, nor is the place invaded by insects and the house was fully repainted in the spring. I do not know the motives of the person who wrote this review but I do know that this party ran off without paying its electricity bill, proffering instead the six euro which has subsequently falsely transmogrified into a nappy sack charge. The only valid criticism is that there was no baby bath; as for covering sockets and safety gates on stairs, these would be features appropriate to a dedicated creche. The balcony is fully railed and gated and it would seem obvious that one cannot leave small children unsupervised amid streams and natural woodland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mneaves
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This house was perfect for those who like to relax in a peacful retreat after a funfilled day out walking or out at the beach with the kids. There were 14 in our group,six adults and eight kids and two dogs, it sounds like a bit cramped but the house was perfect and seemed to absorb everyone so it seemed quite spacious. This house had a large Kitchen and dining area with lovelys lounge area which opened on to a beautiful veranda with a treetop veiw of the not too distant mountain landscape, prefect for outdoor breakfasts and evening barbiques. The wooded area out the back of the building is amazingly large which was excellent for the kids to explore and play hide & seek.
The Kitchen is very well stocked with all the nessesary cooking utensils to accomadate anybodies cooking abilities, even the kids had an evening baking with a large dining table to accomadate all the little chefs,
The lounge area was large enough for a host of evening gamesand sing song in front of a beautiful log burning stove, I woul recommend this house to anyone, everbody loved this place, the owner Anne was very nice and did her very best to make our stay one of those to be remembered for years to come. would retur again if visitingthis area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quite and beautiful scenery, close proximity to kenmare town.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kai F
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing