We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEAUTIFUL place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
caravan in evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
caravan in evening
interior with two single sofa beds two ring hob-sink and fridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
caravan in evening
interior with two single sofa beds
two ring hob-sink and fridge
Toilet and shower block
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rach908
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL place to stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I stayed in the gypsy wagon which was absolutely gorgeous, clean and quaint. I would highly recommend it as it is in a beautiful location outside Kenmare town. My favourite place to stay so far in Ireland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Wifi reception was bad but it was to be expected
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5hollyb
Concord, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couples Motorcycle Trip”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I rented motorcycles from Retroventures in Adare, Ireland for our 10th anniversary. We were set up to stay two nights in the vintage gypsy wagon. What an amazing experience! It was our favorite accommodation of our trip.

Marie is a lovely hostess! The farm is so quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The Irish country around it is absolutely stunning and private! The gypsy wagon is so very cute and comfortable and Marie made sure we had everything we needed. The bathhouse is very close, modern and clean.
The breakfast is home baked and absolutely delicious! We hope to spend more time there on a future trip! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherwoodb...
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely to be glamping in extraordinary countryside”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Perhaps sleeping in a caravan is not for everyone, but for those who appreciate something a bit different and unusual, in a beautiful park like setting and an extraordinary part of the Irish countryside. It is not too far from Kerry Penisula or from Kenmare to base your operations out of and best of all if you can explore the exceptional Beara Penisula as well.
The caravan is well equipped; you can make yourself a cup of tea or coffee and there is a fridge but it has all the best of the 70's charm to boot. Art is everywhere here, even in the loo! The bathroom and shower building is close by and is semi-shared with the another caravan and nicely set up as well- very modern in this case. Best of all, there is a friendly cat and 2 dogs that make your acquaintance feel like home.
This has everything you need for a first rate glamping holiday! I have already recommended this place to my friends- so am happy to do so online too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The parklike setting and views
Liked least: Using the bathroom on one rainy night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diluki
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stay in gypsy wagon was a highlight of cycling trip”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Ger and Marie's gypsy wagon for one night but I wish we could have stayed for longer. We arrived late due to a long day's cycle but was welcomed in by Ger despite the time. The wagon itself is wonderfully quaint, snug and beautifully appointed with lovely touches (fairy lights, electric heater) all over the place. There was an excellent shower/toilet block.

Breakfast by Marie the next morning was truly divine. We had it alfresco watching the sun rise over the mountains and I would heartily recommend the homemade porridge and the scrambled eggs with feta and sundried tomatoes. An exceptional place to stay and we will definitely be in touch if we are in that neck of the woods again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21Kevin47
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chez Shea - the best way to Beara”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I arrived at Chez Shea - a landscaped plot with a vintage caravan and a gypsy wagon on a small farm close to Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula - on Monday 4 August. For the week I stayed I felt, on the one hand completely at home but on the other the pleasure of really beautiful surroundings and enjoyable times with the two other guests staying there at the same time and the really sound hosts, Ger and Marie. I stayed in the old gypsy wagon. It was a lovely space and atmosphere to relax in with a book, coffee and tunes in the background and the double bed was really really comfortable. The scenery around the farm is gorgeous, but as Chez Shea is also situated very close to Healy Pass in the centre of the Beara, it is a great base from where you can get anywhere on Beara very quickly by car. Being brought breakfast to your door each morning from a menu of three options was like being spoilt, a lovely feeling when you're on holiday. The pancake and fruit breakfast was particularly special. I've been to Beara on many occasions, but this year was the best yet and that was in large measure because Chez Shea is a special place and because Marie and Ger, in a really natural and respectful way, make you feel its your home away from home for however long you're there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked least: There wasn't anything that caused me any difficulty. Chez Shea was completely as advertised and more.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing