We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seanua B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seanua B&B
Ranked #59 of 63 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Nellysford, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wonderful family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Seanua was our favorite place in Ireland – a true homestay B & B. We enjoyed Alison and Andy, as well as their very engaging daughters Naoimh, Rachel, and Olivia. The rooms are homey with very comfortable beds, good-sized bathrooms with big fluffy towels and hairdryers. The breakfasts delivered by the girls are outstanding. We took every opportunity to interact with the family, including going to the local pub where Andy, a talented musician and singer, was performing that evening. We were also fortunate in that the equally-talented girls were willing to sing and perform their Irish dances for us.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JanetWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    2
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Our family stayed at Seanua B&B for 3 nights in August 2009. We booked two rooms before our visit to Ireland and those rooms were waiting for us. As comfortable as the accomodations were, the joy of our stay was getting to know our hosts, Andrew, Alison, and there children. Our first night there, we were advised that Andrew was playing guitar with a small traditional music group at a local pub/restaurant for an early show. We went there to enjoy the music and have dinner. The bonus was some dancing and signing by Andrew's children. Alison made sure that we were comfortable and gave us internet access with her own laptop, when ours was acting up. The breakfasts were the most generous and the tastiest of our trip--in particular, the smoked salmon was superb. Both Andrew and Alison were a bottomless source of information about visiting the Beara Peninsula. One of the best nights of our vacation was an evening at Molly Galavin's Cabin in an interactive performance of story-telling, music and dance called "The Homecoming"; we would not have known about this once-a-week event (Tuesdays) were it not fvor Andrew. And I consulted Andrew about our departure through Dunloe Gap, a twisty, turny road through magnificant country, that I would not have attempted without Andrew's encouragement--and we are thankful that we did. In all, our visit was like being treated as part of their family--which is exactly the standard that we had hoped for in staying at B&B's.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostock
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed at Seanua for eight nights - it's the perfect starting point for exploring the Beara peninsula and getting rest after a long and exciting day walking in the mountains or wandering through the magnificent countryside. Alison and Andy made us feel really welcome and created a natural family atmosphere that we enjoyed so much. The rooms were lovely, very cozy and clean. Breakfast was delicious and large.
If you want to get to know something about Ireland and its people then stay at Seanua - Andy and Alison are perfect ambassadors of their country and competent advisors for all your touring plans.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank telde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at Seanua for two days in July, 2009. We used it as a base for exploring the Ring of Kerry. Andy and Alison are very welcoming, happy, and kind people. The B&B is just on the outskirts of Kenmare, within walking distance and less than a five minute drive to downtown Kenmare - a beautiful town I would highly recommend over staying in the much busier Killarney.
We mentioned to Andy that we were celebrating our anniversary, and returned in the evening to find a hand-written note, a bottle of wine, and two glasses to help us toast the occasion!
Breakfasts were delicious!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdubsandbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

My wife and I stayed with Andy and Alison and their family for 5 days while we were in the Kenmare area - in fact, we asked to stayed an extra night! :-)

It was a privelege to stay at Seanua - the atmosphere Alison and Andy have created in their home was just first-rate. The breakfasts were delicious (our favourite was the pancakes, salmon and scrambled eggs, but the other choices were also fabulous!), the facilities were clean, warm and comfortable (we stayed in the Yellow room), and their advise was fantastic in helping us see the best of the area (I'm a keen photographer and they were able to point me in the direction of some hidden gems around Kerry county).

A particular highlight of staying at Seanua (and in fact our whole trip) was being invited to come to one of the local pubs to watch the family perform traditional Irish music, song and dance - if you want to see the real Ireland, then start at Seanua!

I have no hesitation in recommending Seanua to you as a wonderful place to stay when you visit Kerry County.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Scott-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over the world
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

It is hard to write this review as the family who owns this B&B was friendly and their children were great playmates for ours but I have to be honest and say that it was not a very good B&B experience at all.

The breakfasts were far and away the worst of our trip. The house itself was not very clean and orderly and we felt like we were really staying with a family, not in a B&B. There was just not much professionalism. The location was nothing special-- about a couple km away from Kenmare and definitely need a car to get around.

Hopefully Allison is able to be around more often in the future as I believe she can make or break this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tegia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malvern
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

A friendly welcome from Andrew, Alison and the girls made my solo trip something to remember. The area is beautiful, close to the small town of Kenmare where traditional Irish music can be found.
The accommodation was both comfortable and attractive with everything necessary for an enjoyable stay. Great Irish breakfast with other choices available if required. Can't wait for a return visit!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.5 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.6 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
1.6 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seanua B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seanua B&B

Property: Seanua B&B
Address: Gortagass | Crossroads, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Seanua' meaning old & new is an old farmhouse style home offering the modern comforts of a bet & breakfast near the picturesque town of Kenmare in the heart of open countryside with panoramic views of mountains sea and valley. There is a fishing river nearby and the location is central for touring the famous Ring of Kerry, Lakes of Killarney and the Ring of Beara. Golf, hillwalking, cycling and water sports are just some of the activities that can be enjoyed locally. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing