We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
Ranked #24 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Noreen and Neal are wonderful people, very kind.
The place is very nice and clean, it is situated in the center of Kenmare. Noreen makes a delicious breakfast for her hosts.
I can recommend this B&B everyone, and i hope to return here as soon as possible.

Marco

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 85marc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great location right on the main street in Kenmare. Hosts were wonderfully welcoming and helpful in every way, including helping us make bookings for Skellig Michael and for a B&B the night we left Kenmare. Wonderful breakfast -- best we had in our two week trip. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very central guest-house, very welcoming, helpful with local information and central location. Wish we had had more time to explore this great little town.Would love to have stayed an extra night but was fully booked. Loved Dingle and Beara Peninsula. Parking is in the street but this is very common. We packed an overnight bag so we didn't have to lug heavy case upstairs.

Room Tip: Our double room was great, wifi connected straight away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved how sweet Noreen and Neil were! Nothing was too much trouble, The b&b is conveniently located right on the main street, so walking to anything is easy. Things quiet down in the evening, so the road noise really didn't seem to be an issue for us. Breakfasts were great! We wouldn't hesitate in recommending a stay at Virginia's!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hnymnr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This inn is conveniently located on the Main Street above the town shops. Easy access to pubs and dining options. However the Main Street is also the main highway used to access the Ring of Kerry and is quite heavily used. Most of the rooms face this street and are subject to the associated noise. While our room had insulated windows, it did not keep out the traffic noise. I am a fairly light sleeper and had to use ear plugs in order to block out the noise so I could sleep the first night of our stay. However, after the first night I realized that the windows have a metal vent at the top that was open so I closed it and turned on the small fan the proprietors had provided in the room to create some white noise and was able to sleep the following two nights of our stay without ear plugs.

The rooms are very basic which is how they are presented by the owners on the website and through their responses on trip advisor. If you book this room thinking you're getting a fancy B&B or inn then you will likely be disappointed. The WiFi connection in our room was very strong and worked fairly consistently. The breakfasts were very good and the coffee was exceptional. I am a coffee snob and their coffee rivaled what I drink at home. If you're looking for a good value in a convenient location and aren't bothered by traffic noise when sleeping, I would say this is a reasonable choice when staying in Kenmare. They don't have off street parking so if you book here you'll have to find a spot on the street which didn't present much of a problem for us.

Neil was a wonderful host, extremely helpful and friendly. We only met Noreen on the way out as she was usually in the kitchen preparing the wonderful breakfasts.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Epicure S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was the best B&B and accommodation experience throughout our whole trip. Excellent location in the centre of town with plenty of restaurants, shops and entertainment. Neil and Noreen were fantastic hosts and took the extra time to make us feel welcome and tell us about the area. Breakfast here is something else as well - three course dining. Fantastic experience and looking forward to being able to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_Skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

During our two week vacation, Virginia’s Gueshouse was the BEST place we stayed! Neil & Noreen are awesome hosts! And the breakfasts were like eating in a 5 Star restaurant plus they had fresh squeezed orange juice every morning! Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. We highly recommend Virginia’s!
Herb and Dottie
May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.1 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#11 of 61 in Kenmare
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Kenmare Failte Hostel
#4 of 21 in Kenmare
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare

Address: 36 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £53 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the prestigious Georgina Campbell's "Hosts of the Year" award in 2011, Virginia's Guesthouse is a friendly, small, unpretentious, family-run guesthouse in the town centre of Kenmare. When you stay at Virginia's, you are guaranteed a warm welcome, a clean, comfortable en-suite room and a lovely varied breakfast menu featuring organic local produce, freshly baked breads and home-produced recipes. Virginia's is proud to be recommended by Rick Steves, The Lonely Planet, Alistair Sawday, The Good Hotel Guide, Guide De Routard, Pauline Frommers, Ireland for Dummies, By The Water's Edge, Georgina Campbell's Guide to Ireland & The Rough Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia`s Guesthouse Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing