We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining stay at this B and B”
Review of Willow Lodge

Willow Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willow Lodge
Ranked #36 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Plum City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Entertaining stay at this B and B”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

When we stopped by, we found Paul and Greta in the yard planting flowers. They were very welcoming and gave us some tips on where to visit and dine in town. We were only a few blocks away from the downtown area. We enjoyed our stay of one night. It was very quiet. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Breakfast was good and very filling. Paul entertained us with his stories. We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side if you want to be away from the road noise. We had a corner room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
17
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed one night at Willow Lodge in Kenmare. Our room and the bathroom were clean, the breakfast was fine, but not outstanding (had better ones in other B&Bs....).
The tips from the owner Paul were good, he had maps of the most important local attractions.
But to summerize: It´s too expensive for what you get!
If you pay 100€for a double room you could expect something like tea or coffee at the arrival as we got it in other B&Bs with lower prices. In Kenmare you surely get cheaper B&Bs with the same or better standard than Willow Lodge, so we would not recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jts85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were treated very well if a bit quirkily. Good location and facilities. Breakfast good. The rate is higher than the real value though. Get a quote before you go! English couple, would have preferred to do Irish.

Room Tip: Ask for lower rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

First off I will say we did not experience ANY pf the difficulties other reviewers have posted. We had not made reservations ahead of time as our trip to Ireland was not a scheduled plan from day to day but a ""we'll stop and see things we think may be of interest and move on having done so". We'd seen Willow Lodge in Rick Steves' Ireland book and stopped because we wound up that day in Kenmare. Paul and Gretta, the owners were very welcoming and engaging....Paul especially so. I had picked up a "bug" somewhere en route and was certainly overly sensitive to anything which one would judge as less than perfect. That having been said, Paul offered tea and directions to a chemist if we thought one was needed....it was not, thankfully. We were in a comfortable room with a large en suite bathroom. A tea tray was delivered to our room shortly after arrival but Paul invited my wife downstairs for tea to allow me a quiet room to recover. I felt much better the next day, a Sunday, but we decided to stay an extra day. Paul was very entertaining, a witty gentleman, and willing to share insights and recommendations for our loosely planned route which really enhanced our enjoyment as we proceeded. Gretta called a friend of theirs who owns a guest house in Dingle (next stop) to arrange a room. We stayed in accommodations more expensive and a couple less so during our obviously non-high tourist season journey. I think Ireland has more B7Bs than any other country to which we've traveled....a fairly large number. My opinion is if the price is more than you think reasonable, stay in another person's home as that is what B&Bs are. I thank Paul and Gretta for their hospitality and concern over my well being....it is never a good thing to be ill on holiday. One more note on price, we had said our goodbyes and listened carefully to Paul's directions and departed. When we were several minutes down the road I asked my lovely wife had she paid for our room....OOPS! We immediately returned and honored that responsibility much to the surprise and mirth of all involved; to me, that is testimony that the stay had been on a level a bit distanced from the money involved by all of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyguyRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We spent 1 night here after a 5 hour drive from Clifden area. If we hadnt been so tired, we'd have found someplace else; much higher prices than we paid for similiar or better accomodations during our entire 16 night trip. Great location[ walk to town center] and good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dc1sanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We arrived and were greeted by Paul, he offered coffee or tea....we declined, and he led us up to our rooms (we were a foursome)they were very pretty, but the fancy bedding came off right away.The underbedding was quite alright, just seemed odd to us.
We also found (all over in Ireland) that hairdryers are never in the bathroom, or easy to use near a mirror. The shower didn't have shampoo and soap....nor a shelf to put them either. I tell these things because for minutes at a time they seem terribly relevant.
We very much enjoyed breakfast; ordered at table,not the night before! Paul is a warm, bubbly fellow with with a wicked wit and Gretta was a perfect foil at times. They both seemed as if we had known them for a great long while.
On the down-side, there are antiques about with signs asking to not touch them....and glasses on the sideboard that were also off-limits, they do detract from the overall warmth of the Lodge.
We were given some excellent tourist-y advice, and enjoyed the direction.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had just completed a 150km cycle and I stayed here with two friends in a small family room that had an extra bed added to it to make it a triple. Space was tight and very hot during the night. This was not a problem as many of the B&B were booked out and we were glad to have a bed.


However when we arrived the proprietress was most unfriendly. We were still in our cycling gear and wearing flip flops. She ordered us to removed our shoes, which were clean. After entering the house she shouted at us to close the door. We were taken by surprise and did not know what to say. Apparently we were late arriving and it was causing a panic.

The Discover Ireland website highlights that the B&B has tea/coffee making facilities. Our room did not have it and we were not offered even a glass of water on arrival. Most unwelcoming. There was also no shampoo or shower gel provided.

Breakfast was very tasty and well enjoyed. Breakfast was served by the proprietor and he was very friendly and helpful.

However when we went to pay the bill was 50 euro each. 150 for a small triple room is just way to expensive for the services offered.

I would not recommend Willow Lodge and I would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2012

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GiddyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brass Lantern
The Brass Lantern
#35 of 60 in Kenmare
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#11 of 60 in Kenmare
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arthur's Lodge Wood
Arthur's Lodge Wood
#30 of 60 in Kenmare
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Bruachan
An Bruachan
#25 of 60 in Kenmare
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Lodge

Property: Willow Lodge
Address: Convent Garden, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Lodge, quietly situated in the grounds of the former Convent, is an "ideal location" as guests say, being only a short two minute stroll from the centre of town (three in heels !) And so away from the noise and bustle of the streets in town and the traffic. Parking is free here in our grounds and free WiFi is available for our guests convenience. So, no need to worry about what might happen to your car on the street overnight, or about town's hustle and noise coming up from the street or about dodging the early morning traffic warden. Our fees reflect the convenience of our proximity to town but if town is not busy an appropriate reduction may be offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Willow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing