We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, central and quiet location”
Review of Willow Lodge

Willow Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willow Lodge
Ranked #36 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Zurich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great B&B, central and quiet location”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed there in early August 2013, in 2 rooms (2 adults 2 kids). Rooms were spotless and large, well equipped. Read about price comments before and found indeed Kenmare is more expensive than Killarney - if you run on a tight budget you should pass through Kenmare (traffic is a pain anyway). Did not find this B&B overpriced though, compared to other houses we saw in this city. The hosts Gretta and Paul are very friendly and helpful. Overall we had a great stay and lovely rest!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hesi1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    21
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

paul was very informative of the local places of interest and gave us good advice. Close to the town centre. The down side was no tea making facilities in the room. Room was noisy. The room also lacked the comforts (no face flannels) of an expensive B & B at 50 euros per person we felt this not value for money compared to other places we stayed at on our trip around Ireland. However, Paul and Gretta were very welcoming and nice people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stupot1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East Asia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Myself and a few friends stayed at Willow lodge over the August weekend whilst attending a wedding in Kenmare, we were delighted to have been able to book accommodation together so close to the town. All was well with our stay, rooms comfortable and welcoming etc, until the next morning. Unfortunately it turns out that at this BnB there is no single rate for a person staying alone in a room, a fact I was not made aware of at the time of booking even though I specifically requested a single room. I was charged 90 euros for one night for one person-an extortionate rate under any circumstances, particularly considering we had missed breakfast which is served only from 8 until 9.30 in the morning (a very small window of opportunity really!!). Anyway-I paid the amount, and my friends and I left highly unimpressed with our hosts protestations that she is the only host in the town that caters for singles and that it is a fixed rate-our doubts about this were confirmed when our other single friend, who had left earlier that morning, rang to tell us that she had been charged 100 euros for the very same privilege as myself-fixed rate indeed!! I cannot help but feel that the couple running this place have perfected that art of "chat" as it were to cover the fact that all that they are is friendly scam artists.

Room Tip: don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jennywrenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Thank you Paul & Gretta for our very short but sweet stay for one night last month. Our room was comfortable & quiet, breakfast very good and location excellent. We were en route to a wedding in Killarney and I can't thank you enough for the help you gave when I had a mini dress disaster. You solved the problem via your washing machine and drier - going beyond customer service! Thanks to you both. I only wish we had the time to stay longer. I am a Travel Agent in the UK and would highly recommend the guest house to all my clients. If we find ourselves back to this part of Ireland we will be back to see you.

All the best, Sarah & Steve.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah_bracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and I just spent one night here because of a recommendation from another B & B in another town. (I wish I had checked tripadvisor, but I did not have internet at the time) Very nice people, food was OK, access to town is great! Downsides, rooms are noisy adjacent to other rooms, no tea or coffee in room, you will need to ask for hand towels and wash cloths, no shampoo or soap in the shower, etc. It lacks the creature comforts of an expensive B & B. I am sure that you can do better for the price.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife & I spent 3 nights at Willow Lodge during a motoring tour of S.W. Ireland in June. Ideally situated only 2 mins walk from the centrre of the delightful market town of Kenmare. A lovely house and rooms with good off road parking in the grounds of the house. Paul, the only half of the couple who run it whom we met, is gracious, witty and a fund of information about places around there. We were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Towels were changed every day despite our only being there for three days and our saying that it wasn’t neccesary. Standard Irish breakfast available if you can manage it. He also tries out his bits of French, German and Italian for those of you from over the Channel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENNETH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansaw, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Paul and Gretta were good hosts. Paul is full of Blarney:) Friendly and entertaining and gave good advice. Large beautiful home within walking distance of downtown. Spacious, clean rooms. Wonderful breakfast. Off street parking was a big plus. Paul kept an eye on our rental and reminded us to keep the windows up in Irish weather. Haha. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2rppelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.3 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Virginia's Guesthouse Kenmare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.6 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#6 of 60 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 60 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Lodge

Property: Willow Lodge
Address: Convent Garden, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Lodge, quietly situated in the grounds of the former Convent, is an "ideal location" as guests say, being only a short two minute stroll from the centre of town (three in heels !) And so away from the noise and bustle of the streets in town and the traffic. Parking is free here in our grounds and free WiFi is available for our guests convenience. So, no need to worry about what might happen to your car on the street overnight, or about town's hustle and noise coming up from the street or about dodging the early morning traffic warden. Our fees reflect the convenience of our proximity to town but if town is not busy an appropriate reduction may be offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Willow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing