We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful BNB Ireland”
Review of Rockcrest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockcrest House
Ranked #1 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful BNB Ireland”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We unfortunately only got to stay one night at Rockcrest House. We have been traveling now for 2 month's and to find such a warm and comfortable BNB as this one was a great pleasure. Marian and David were wonderful hosts, the breakfast was just amazing and you could have as much as you wanted of anything from cereals to full Irish breakfast, pancakes ect. The room was very clean and comfortable with really high quality linen. The location to town is also fantastic, you can have a lovely leafy stroll pass Cromwells bridge and will be in town in a couple of minutes.
We would highly recommend this BNB.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    69
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
115
369
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The elegant but homey Rockcrest House was one of the best B&BS that my husband and I have visited and is located on a quiet, country road but only a nice short walk from beautiful Kenmare with nice shops and restaurants and pubs with music. Marian and David were very accommodating and offered good suggestions to our many questions. We enjoyed a great dinner at Packies and music and meal at The Coachman. There are several pubs with music, all unique. The breakfasts offered a variety of choices from fresh homemade breads to superb scrambled eggs and French press coffee. We hope to return and stay longer than two nights.
Dick and Judy Olympia WA USA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrose46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This was our jumping off point for Kerry and the surrounding area. Kenmare is conveniently located near both the Beara and Kerry peninsulas. The Rockcrest house is a short walk from beautiful Kenmare. Marian and David were nice, very accommodating and helpful with suggestion and local information. The full Irish breakfast was FULL! We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We flew into Shannon and headed for Kenmare and the RockCrest House B&B. David greeted us and served tea and cookies in the living room. He gave spectacular advice on pub music and good local restaurants as well as places to visit nearby. We stayed 3 nights with Marian and David and wished we'd stayed longer- there is so much to see nearby: Dingle Peninsula, Ring of Kerry, Beara peninsula, Muckross House. The rooms are wonderful- we stayed in room #4 which had a great view and a lovely sitting area. The breakfasts are SPECTACULAR, the irish hospitality fabulous!! Go, go, go!! We loved the location too- a short 5 minute walk to town!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soap Lake, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ended up here after the B&B we reserved was closed. They took us in last minute and were so kind and helpful. The largest stone circle in this part of Ireland is right across the creek. You can walk to town within 1-2 blocks and very quiet. There is a holy well along their street. I can't say enough positive about their place. The room was comfortable and a wonderful breakfast. We also wished we had stayed 2 nights, but we had reservations in Dingle to push us along.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Only 5' minutes from Kenmare centre Marian & David have created an excellent and heartful home for tired travellers (we were welcome although all drenched and dirty from walking the Kerry Way). Tasteful decorated, spotless and with high standard renovated room & bathroom). Marian made possible whatever within her power to provide us a most relaxing and pleasant stay...Both thumbs up for her and her family/team!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsbe_pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We traveled all around Ireland and gave ourselves only one night here. The next morning, we regretted that we hadn't alloted more nights. The B&B is at the outskirt of the town center, so it was very quiet but within walking distance of everything. It is close to two lesser-known attractions, which David was kind enough to point out. There is a hidden stone circle a 5-minute walk away, while an ancient, mossy covered bridge with an exaggerated inverted U shape can be found even closer to the B&B. Our room, #2, came with a double bed and I think a king bed. The room, needless to say, was enormous. We had plenty of heat for the chilly night. Breakfast was great, and the owners very cheery. My husband was beside himself when we encountered Rollo the dog in the driveway. I think he would forgive a B&B's many shortcomings if it came with a friendly dog. However, this place was perfect as is.

Room Tip: #2 is an enormous room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.2 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.5 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 61 in Kenmare
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockcrest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcrest House

Property: Rockcrest House
Address: Gortamullin, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockcrest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rockcrest House Luxury B&B Accommodation in Kenmare, designed with comfort in mind. Whether you want a relaxing weekend break or an action-packed outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to spend your vacation and discover the joys of Kenmare and Kerry. At Rockcrest House we pride ourselves on providing a first-rate service in luxury surrounds at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rockcrest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockcrest House Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing