We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking out can be a challenge”
Review of Brook Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brook Lane Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to bring in the new year, we had dinner on both nights--excellent 4 course meal on both nights, breakfast was also excellent--our room was quiet as requested, spotless, robes, quality toiletries etc--there was a real caring attitude displayed by all the staff especially Una, who interacted with us the most,-- such is the comfort--quality of food and homeliness displayed here--it is hard to book out, I would highly recommend this hotel to those looking for luxury at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If dieting do not come here as resolutions Will be broken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTY65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan - Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review - really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us ,great room tip too !!!!!
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Four of us just back from Brook Lane Hotel in Kenmare - overall disappointing-breakfast very good but two bedroom apartment was very ordinary-cramped rooms,basic fittings ,poor value for €440 for two nights-would not be rushing back

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Padraig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan - Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. Maybe our interconnecting bedrooms rooms may have been more suitable for you stay with us, or we also have a very large Junior suite with large bathroom , heated floors ,walk in wardrobes ,separate sitting area,40" flat screen tv and a large walk out Balcony.
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights from Dec 27th-29th. The hotel, whilst not in the centre of Kenmare, is only a couple of minutes walk/ drive from the town. The welcome at check was warm and sincere (as were all interactions with staff throughout our stay) and being walked to our room is a small touch that I always appreciate. The room was nicely decorated with attractive bespoke furniture and fittings. Robes and quality toiletries were a nice touch. The public areas are tastefully decorated and feel luxurious and informal at the same time. We ate at their sister property, No 35 (having been kindly driven there by Siobhaun from reception)-highly recommend this restaurant. The bar was a hub of activity that night with a table quiz taking place. There was a nice selection of beers from small Irish breweries. Our only small criticism was breakfast. Both mornings, the cheese plate and fruit didn't seem to be very fresh and the room felt vast and empty for the amount of people in it-I presume it is a function room which doubles as the breakfast room. I think the bar is a lovely space and would be a nicer and more appropriate setting. But overall we highly recommend a stay at Brook Lane and I would say it represents excellent value for the price paid.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JDC1977_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan - Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for your superb review! Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us We have taken on board your comments regarding breakfast and have rectified same
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some time soon
Best Wishes
Una Brennan - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

4 of us stayed there on Saturday night last and met 4 more for an annual catch up christmas dinner. Ive been telling everyone about the truly outstanding service ever since. Una checked us in, brought us a coffee to our room, brought us in her car to a local pub to see the match we wanted to see, helped serve us a fabulous meal along with other just as friendly, just as professional colleagues and staff.The rooms are perfect

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan - Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband, myself and our 3 small children AND 2 grandparents spent 3 days in this lovely hotel over Thanksgiving. The location is perfect; its a very short walk to town so the children could burn some energy, the hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff is warm and friendly. One night they had a singer in the pub that got the whole crowd going. We stayed in the family apartment; beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room. The food is top notch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinalynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, un at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Fab review,lovely comments ,It was a pleasure to look after you and we hope to see you again in Kenmare
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed in the Brook land for the first time last week and can't praise it enough. The rooms are large for a modern hotel and very clean and comfortable. The food was very good indeed and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan - Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for the lovely review of Brook Lane Hotel,We look forward to welcoming you back here soon
Warmest regards
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Brook Lane Hotel is a smallish family run hotel on the outskirts of Kenmare, at the junction with the Sneem Road. The outside is a green painted late Victorian/Edwardian rendered building with additions at the back. Reception is a bright welcoming space, spotlessly clean, and I was given a very warm welcome and dealt with efficiently. My room overlooked the road, but was not noisy. Modern decor with large scale wallpaper on one wall. An enormous bed made up with smart cotton sateen striped sheets, and very comfortable. Bathroom was well lit, spotless and all the usual comforts.
I did n't eat here in the evening, so I can't comment, but breakfast was all you could ask, fresh fruit salads, yoghurt and dried fruits, selection of cereals. Self service fresh baked bread and toaster was a nice touch. The Irish breakfast was very popular, but the kenmare smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was just delicious, and all brought with an efficient and friendly way.
The Brook Lane is not luxury, as it does not offer the facilities, but for a really warm welcome, a clean comfortable room and delicious breakfast, I was very happy indeed, and would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c__h2008-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan - Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Excellent review,I like you comment " late Victorian/Edwardian rendered building with additions " the building is infact a new build and there are no additions to the building ,we actually designed it like this and built it 8 years ago ,with the whole idea that it would look old on the outside,and fit in with the local area
Hope to see you again in Kenmare
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
999 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,489 reviews
21.2 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
220 reviews
12.6 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lane Hotel

Address: Kenmare | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: £93 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook Lane Hotel is Kenmare's only four star luxury Boutique Hotel. Family run and managed with all local Irish staff. In Casey's Bar and Award winning Restaurant we source all our produce locally using the freshest ingredients to make the tastiest of dishes. There is ample free car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Live music weekly with Casey's Inhouse Band keeps locals and guests alike entertained with traditional Irish music. There is also a fantastic Irish Dancing show every Wednesday from 8pm! Phone direct for seasonal offers!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brook Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Lane Kenmare
Hotel Brook Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing