We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything we expected and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Modern, spacious, quiet rooms with friendly staff. It has the feel of a 3 star hotel rather than a B&B. Would recommend.
Great location in the centre of town and the pub atmosphere seemed good. We did not try the food.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and very quiet for a Sunday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaireadShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

My friend and I took a 2 week trip to Ireland traveling all over and we ended up in Kenmare for two days at Coachmans. Our room was great. Nice and big and the bathroom was also nicer than you find traveling. The staff was great and it is always nice when they remembers your name and refers to you by that. Food was good, entertainment was good and they always gave suggestions for things to do around the area. I cannot complain about my stay here at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Arrived in town with 2 flat tyres. Siobahn could not have been more helpful by arranging after hours assistance. Nothing too much trouble, even though the hotel was very busy. Rooms great, very clean, and quite large. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Couldn't have asked for better rooms on a recent stay - best shower in Ireland!
The bar & dinner menu was great, capped off by wonderful live music for a great atmosphere.
Perfect location in a fantastic village.

Would recommend to all!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESGLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

You can't get a better location for Kenmare. Right in the middle of downtown. Plenty of access to wifi. Big rooms. Nice bar area. Good price.

A few issues to keep me from rating it 5.

The first was, we waited at the front desk for a while before I finally went into the bar to find someone to help us. Even then I went back out to the lobby and waited some more. Not a huge deal but there were three people working at the bar and only 2 customers at the bar, so the wait wasn't caused by a busy staff.

The second was, we were charged for breakfast. Again, not a huge deal, 5 euro per person. But this place is listed as a bed AND breakfast which to me implies you get both for the price you pay. We staying in 8 places in Ireland, both hotels and B&Bs and this was one of only two places where we had to pay for our breakfast.

The third was, the sign out front said traditional Irish music EVERY NIGHT. There was no music.

Room Tip: A few other tips: there ARE in fact drinking glasses in the room, if you can't find them look do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riccabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night while we were in town for a friends celebration. The place is bang in the middle of Kenmare, huge room with what seems like 2 king sized beds and room for a roll-away. Breakfast was lovely and simple the next morning, cooked fresh from what I could tell so no crusty rashers or shrivelled sausages here. And we are thinking this could be the spot when we are back in Kenmare over the summer, with it being really good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tipp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My family and i have stayed here , several times over the years on a regular basis , and i can safely say that having stayed in various other hotels in the area such as kenmare bay , parknasilla resort and sneem hotel , the coachmans punches above its weight for a townhouse hotel . The room size and quality finishes , coupled with the excellent food and entertainment make this a gem in the centre of kenmare . You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
13.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
987 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
264 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachmans Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachmans Townhouse Hotel

Address: 8 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: £68 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachmans Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Kenmare town center, The Coachman's Townhouse Hotel is a popular choice. Great value luxury accommodation upstairs, combined with the renowned "Coachmans Dining & Music Experience" in the restaurant make The Coachmans a unique and very special offering. A stay at The Coachmans is memorable and 1 night is simply not enough. The rooms are spacious and elegant with King Size beds, plasma TV, underfloor heating, elevator, air con, baths and power showers. Free parking and free WIFI. The hotel is run by Padraig & Siobhan Jones and they invest careful attention and energy to every detail of their business and most of all to their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coachmans Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing