We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, breakfast could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends recently. The room was nicely decorated and very spacious with 2 big comfortable beds.There is lots of natural light and windows to open, it was very warm when we were there. Considering there was four of us more cups and tea/coffee would have been nice. We like our cups of tea when we arrive and are settling in. There was also not a lot of plugs between phone chargers, the kettle, hairdriers and straighteners there was only one decent plug as the second one on the wall at the dressing table was blocked with something.There was one behind the bed but not convenient for what we were using. My friend had to iron her dress and luckily it was black because that iron was so dirty and sticky it nearly left a hole in her dress. The hole from the iron in the carpet is also a bit unsightly. The bathroom was lovely, I really liked that the floor was warm and there was lots of space. We had food downstairs when we arrived which was nice but took awhile considering it was only sandwiches and wasn't very busy. We had to ask for our drinks to be brought over twice and even then didn't get them all so didn't bother asking anymore. I thought breakfast would be better but I am really a breakfast person so maybe expected too much. There was a small table with cereal, chopped fruit, yoghurt and orange juice. A selection of juice would be nice even just 2 or 3. The fruit was completely tasteless as was the cooked breakfast. 2 scrawny sausages, 2 pieces of bacon, a fried egg and about 10 beans. We weren't asked how we would like our eggs which I would have thought was basic. Overall the decor is nice, the staff were friendly enough and the location was perfect but its the little things that let it down. For the price we paid there were too many little things

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Booked here last minute after a night in Killarney and got a great deal through one of the hotel websites. We were a party of 12 and had two family rooms and two doubles. Rooms are very big, recently done out and spotless. Great stay, some of our party had stayed before and recommended it. Food was fantastic. Free Wifi and great evening entertainment too. 10/10

Room Tip: The first floor family room at the front is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liampc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our family of 4, including 2 teenagers, stayed at the Coachman for one night in July 2013. We stopped first in Kilkenny on the way and enjoyed some of the shopping but Kenmare is much smaller and more picturesque. We ended up doing most of our souvenir shopping in a small store in Kenmare. The staff was friendly when I booked and called later to enquire about parking (turns out that we parked on the street right in front of hotel). The Coachman is in a great location in town. The room and bathroom are clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable and we had no problem sleeping once we closed the window. Under our room, you could see the outside patio of the pub and a big party was going on, still when the windows were closed we did not hear anything. By the time we got to Kenmare we were ready for a break in pub food, so we did not eat there but we went for a beer after dinner. Music was playing and the place was packed. This is where we started to drive to Ring of Kerry very early the next day and we did not see any buses on the road. We left around 6am and arrived at Portmagee around 8:30am. I would recommend to drive the Ring counter clock wise with bus traffic if you start after 8 am.. The roads are small, the buses coming at you are huge. We drove Kilkenny-Kenmare at 5pm against bus traffic and it was scary (thank you Rick Steve!).
The highlight of our trip was to be able to go to Skellig Michael. We had a gorgeous day and photos of the island cannot convey its beauty. We were disappointed by the views in the Ring ( could have been because of the visibility in the early morning or because we live in the Pacific Northwest). We found that the Dingle peninsula's views were much nicer and the roads less travelled (no large buses).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Excellent location & rooms,food in bar looked fab so was very disappointed by breakfast,no choice & not very appetising what we did get.nice friendly staff and very helpful with any queries we had.lively bar,very busy when we were there.would recommend no problem only for breakfast and don't think would stay here again because of it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our room at the Coachman couldn't have been more picturesque. It was right over the entrance with a wall of windows lined with flower boxes. We thought at first it would be noisy with the pubs downstairs and across the street, but no, even with the windows open. In the morning there were sheep bleating (quietly) under our window and a farmer's market around the corner. Could not have been better!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed in Kenmare based on some Dingle Locals recommendations. It was probable one of the best towns we spent time in. Although rather small, Kenmare has great entertainment and great food.

Although the Coachman is a Hotel, it functions like a B&B. the included breakfast was great and the cost per person was the standard 35€ per person with the breakfast included...

This was by far our best room. It was HUGE and took up the entire front of the building with huge windows overlooking the street.

The WiFi was spotty, but other than that this place makes for a great vacation experience.

Room Tip: The front room with 3 HUGE windows overlooking the street was wonderful! It is a little noisy but wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our stay here was one of the highlights of our extended family's 2 week travels through Ireland. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable (great bathrooms, too), the food excellent, and the hosts warm, friendly, attentive and accommodating for our large and diverse group (13 people, ages 3-81, including one paraplegic in a wheelchair!). The icing on the cake was the 2-man musical entertainment during dinner -- fabulous!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
13.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
972 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
687 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachmans Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachmans Townhouse Hotel

Address: 8 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: £66 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachmans Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Kenmare town center, The Coachman's Townhouse Hotel is a popular choice. Great value luxury accommodation upstairs, combined with the renowned "Coachmans Dining & Music Experience" in the restaurant make The Coachmans a unique and very special offering. A stay at The Coachmans is memorable and 1 night is simply not enough. The rooms are spacious and elegant with King Size beds, plasma TV, underfloor heating, elevator, air con, baths and power showers. Free parking and free WIFI. The hotel is run by Padraig & Siobhan Jones and they invest careful attention and energy to every detail of their business and most of all to their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coachmans Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing