We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$295
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort(Kenmare)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$651
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
US$270
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$232
US$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
163
86
14
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
86
14
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubone nightlive musicbed earlygreat location in townhenry streettwo double bedsring of kerryhuge roomfirst floora great place to stayunderfloor heatingthe main streetfish stewno hesitation in recommendingtraditional musiccomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends recently. The room was nicely decorated and very spacious with 2 big comfortable beds.There is lots of natural light and windows to open, it was very warm when we were there. Considering there was four of us more cups and tea/coffee would have been nice. We like our cups of tea when we arrive and are settling in. There was also not a lot of plugs between phone chargers, the kettle, hairdriers and straighteners there was only one decent plug as the second one on the wall at the dressing table was blocked with something.There was one behind the bed but not convenient for what we were using. My friend had to iron her dress and luckily it was black because that iron was so dirty and sticky it nearly left a hole in her dress. The hole from the iron in the carpet is also a bit unsightly. The bathroom was lovely, I really liked that the floor was warm and there was lots of space. We had food downstairs when we arrived which was nice but took awhile considering it was only sandwiches and wasn't very busy. We had to ask for our drinks to be brought over twice and even then didn't get them all so didn't bother asking anymore. I thought breakfast would be better but I am really a breakfast person so maybe expected too much. There was a small table with cereal, chopped fruit, yoghurt and orange juice. A selection of juice would be nice even just 2 or 3. The fruit was completely tasteless as was the cooked breakfast. 2 scrawny sausages, 2 pieces of bacon, a fried egg and about 10 beans. We weren't asked how we would like our eggs which I would have thought was basic. Overall the decor is nice, the staff were friendly enough and the location was perfect but its the little things that let it down. For the price we paid there were too many little things

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Booked here last minute after a night in Killarney and got a great deal through one of the hotel websites. We were a party of 12 and had two family rooms and two doubles. Rooms are very big, recently done out and spotless. Great stay, some of our party had stayed before and recommended it. Food was fantastic. Free Wifi and great evening entertainment too. 10/10

Room Tip: The first floor family room at the front is brilliant.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liampc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our family of 4, including 2 teenagers, stayed at the Coachman for one night in July 2013. We stopped first in Kilkenny on the way and enjoyed some of the shopping but Kenmare is much smaller and more picturesque. We ended up doing most of our souvenir shopping in a small store in Kenmare. The staff was friendly when I booked and called later to enquire about parking (turns out that we parked on the street right in front of hotel). The Coachman is in a great location in town. The room and bathroom are clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable and we had no problem sleeping once we closed the window. Under our room, you could see the outside patio of the pub and a big party was going on, still when the windows were closed we did not hear anything. By the time we got to Kenmare we were ready for a break in pub food, so we did not eat there but we went for a beer after dinner. Music was playing and the place was packed. This is where we started to drive to Ring of Kerry very early the next day and we did not see any buses on the road. We left around 6am and arrived at Portmagee around 8:30am. I would recommend to drive the Ring counter clock wise with bus traffic if you start after 8 am.. The roads are small, the buses coming at you are huge. We drove Kilkenny-Kenmare at 5pm against bus traffic and it was scary (thank you Rick Steve!).
The highlight of our trip was to be able to go to Skellig Michael. We had a gorgeous day and photos of the island cannot convey its beauty. We were disappointed by the views in the Ring ( could have been because of the visibility in the early morning or because we live in the Pacific Northwest). We found that the Dingle peninsula's views were much nicer and the roads less travelled (no large buses).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Excellent location & rooms,food in bar looked fab so was very disappointed by breakfast,no choice & not very appetising what we did get.nice friendly staff and very helpful with any queries we had.lively bar,very busy when we were there.would recommend no problem only for breakfast and don't think would stay here again because of it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our room at the Coachman couldn't have been more picturesque. It was right over the entrance with a wall of windows lined with flower boxes. We thought at first it would be noisy with the pubs downstairs and across the street, but no, even with the windows open. In the morning there were sheep bleating (quietly) under our window and a farmer's market around the corner. Could not have been better!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews