We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coachmans Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a trip round the west of Ireland.
Owner Siobhan was lovely and made sure we were looked after.
Bar has a lovely real Irish feel to it and the food was delicious. Live music later on in the evening was brilliant (bought the CD!)
Room was very spacious (room 25) with two double beds and was clean and comfortable.
All in all a lovely place to stay with a great atmosphere and a nice change from slick hotels (although everything was perfectly organised).

Room Tip: We had room 25 which was hugely spacious (also at back of hotel away from the bar).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    73
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
53
96
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you are with a group of friends, a couple or even have teenagers in your group, you may find that The Coachman meets your needs but with younger children, it most definitely did not meet ours. The website is more than a stretch to represent this hotel as high-end and elegant. It is worn, the shower cleanliness was questionable, the reception desk is a corner of the bar on the first floor and whatever you do, don't let them book you into room 23 facing the street. I don't know where people stayed who reviewed that the noise from the bar was not a problem - it definitely was not in our room. The website also states that there is air conditioning and that is not true. I even asked at the desk to make sure that I wasn't missing how to turn it on. If there had been air conditioning, we could have probably tolerated the noise but because it was a warmer night in late June, we needed to have the windows open and were then forced to smell cigarette smoke from everyone from the bar who had spilled out onto the street. The bar below wrapped up the music around 11:30 but the music from bars across the street and the people milling around outside went on well past 12:30. The woman we spoke to at check-in wasn't very engaging and looking back on it now, I wonder if she knew we would be disappointed in our room.

Parking is also problematic. I had emailed ahead saying that we would have a car to park and did get a response that this wouldn't be a problem. Upon arrival with kids and bags, there was no parking and we were directed around the corner. This was made more difficult by vendors and restaurants having set up chairs and tables in most of the parking spots along Henry Street.

Overall, this hotel is not well represented by its website. I would not describe it as elegant or sophisticated. The one positive I can say is that our room (23) was very large as was the ensuite bathroom. If you are a hen party or someone who wants to join in the music into the night, then you may be happy with your choice but it did not meet our needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank with2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week end. I booked this hotel on line. I had a query so I rang the hotel. Spoke to Padraig. He could not have been more polite and helpful. I didn't book in advance. Just a few days before our visit. On arrival we met Padraig in person. Couldn't have been more efficient. Booking in took no time. We didn't manage to fine space in the allocated car park at the rear but we were informed that we could park on the street without getting a fine until next morning. The hotel itself is very nicely decorated in muted colours. The room we stayed in was lovely. Quite spacious and fresh. The bathroom had a shower and a bath. It was very clean. Had a full irish breakfast the next day. It was tasty.Staff were very friendly. Had a very pleasant stay and we will definitely return sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nore784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a lovely stay here. Very large, comfortable rooms. Well equipped bathroom. Convenient location, right in the centre of the town, although parking can be a bit difficult. We experienced no problems with noise - be sure to ask for a room towards the back of the building and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Went here recently to stay for a hen party. On the phone the owner was not the friendliest and therefore we did not know what to expect when we arrived. On arrival the owner could not of been more accomadating and helpful. We had champagne in the brides room before we went out and he provided glasses and ice to the room. Great rooms with lovely bathrooms. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Great accommodation for a night out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Or.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We really liked this hotel! The location is in the center of town,so convenient. We had a large room,surprising large! at the front of the hotel over the pub. We were worried it would be too loud,not a problem. Music ended around 10:00. Pub food was great and the entertainment fabulous! I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMacPortland_Or_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Don't let them put you in room 23 overlooking the street unless you are planning to stay awake all night. Loud music across the street until 11:30, then street noise until midnight and beyond. Otherwise a perfectly nice hotel with decent rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachmans Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachmans Townhouse Hotel

Property: Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Address: 8 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachmans Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Kenmare town center, The Coachman's Townhouse Hotel is a popular choice. Great value luxury accommodation upstairs, combined with the renowned "Coachmans Dining & Music Experience" in the restaurant make The Coachmans a unique and very special offering. A stay at The Coachmans is memorable and 1 night is simply not enough. The rooms are spacious and elegant with King Size beds, plasma TV, underfloor heating, elevator, air con, baths and power showers. Free parking and free WIFI. The hotel is run by Padraig & Siobhan Jones and they invest careful attention and energy to every detail of their business and most of all to their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coachmans Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing