We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet B&B”
Review of Driftwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood
Ranked #19 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Driftwood. It is very clean and quiet. The rooms are very simply decorated but all the amenities are available. The hosts Peter and Mignonne are very kind and willing to provide their recommendations for trip ideas and destinations. It is about a 10 minute walk into town, which is nice because it gets you away from the crowds and is a nice way to get some exercise (and walk off your dinner). We were fortunate to have excellent weather during our trip and enjoyed the walks and our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Driftwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We enjoyed our brief stay at the Driftwood B&B. After a long day of driving, we found the B&B to be very comfortable and quite and serene. The color pallet and decorations reminded us of the beach. Peter and his wife were wonderful hosts and breakfast was delicious. We especially enjoyed the pancakes. The Driftwood is a comfortable walk to downtown Kenmare.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RARK117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

When my husband and I arrived after leaving the Waterford Castle, I was a bit let down when we arrived at the B&B for a 2 night stay. The selection was made through our travel agency at Exploring Ireland and was listed as #10 out of 55 in Kenmare on Trip Advisor. Peter was quite friendly and noticed my slight disappointment when he showed us our room at the top of the stairs. The room was small and simply furnished with enough space to walk around the queen bed. Fortunately, there was a little closet to place our suitcases and an adjacent small bathroom with a shower, small sink and a toilet. The towels were super small and thin, there was soap dispensers by the sink and in the shower with shampoo and gel. The complimentary wi-fi was fairly decent although we couldn’t get the TV to work. Our bed was comfortable but the pillows disappeared under our head. We discovered the next morning that if we had read the instruction booklet, we would have found extra pillows in the closet in the dresser drawer. Our first night was disrupted by midnight guests in the adjacent bedroom and we heard them speaking and taking their showers. The second night was better although I’m not sure why the clock is set downstairs to chime at 7AM. Breakfast was served from 8-9AM and Peter gave a choice of several made to order options. I had read about the pancakes and enjoyed them, my husband was also happy with the traditional Irish breakfast. The second day, we had the same choices and I had the omelet with smoked salmon which was ordinary and needed some accompaniments.

The B&B was located past the old church and before the town of Kenmare. There were several in the immediate area and seemed to have more impressive curb appeal. As one who has enjoyed B&Bs and Inns all over the world, I believe that there are better options. For those who are only looking for a brief stay that is reasonably priced and well located place, then you’ll enjoy the cleanliness and friendliness. I would strongly recommend a couple of improvements including better towels, some additional room decorations and a list of recommended options for local sights and restaurants. Finally, the toilet is a bit noisy for those who tinkle during the night I have to say that Mignone was quite helpful with various hints for our next journey to Doolin through Dingle. It is difficult to rate the stay given that Peter and Mignone are very nice people.
I would give them an overall rating between average and very good.

Room Tip: I am not sure if the 2 rooms in the back are larger and more quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrieseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Writing this review on my journey home from my stay there! Loved this B&B! It is immaculately clean, extremely comfortable and homely! Very relaxing stay with a great view from the bedroom!

So close to the town, we walked in and out at the night! Only takes 10mins. Peter and Magonne are great hosts! Breakfast was lovely! I'd recommend this B&B again and again. I know ill defiantly be staying there again next time I visit!

Excellent value! You'd expect it to be much more due to the quality of the B&B and the service!:)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sinead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place was so clean you could eat off the floors! Lovely, bright and quiet. Breakfast was excellent and prepared on order. It is a 10 minute walk from town or 2 minutes drive into the village. Peter recommended some excellent walks that were very rewarding for us. Highly recommend. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room simply, but tastefully decorated. Fantastic shower.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This place is spotless. Very clean n white n you will feel bad being messy n dirty. The host Peter is a good cook and prepared a lovely breakfast of pancakes(crepes) with fresh strawberries and maple syrup. Hubby had sausage, bacon n eggs. The bread was home made and tasted fantastic toasted n with some butter.
The city centre is abt 15 mins walk away and there are a lot of Irish food to choose from. Live music usually starts at 830 pm but since it's Ireland, expect Irish time as music didn't start when we left at 9pm ;)
Only regret is too short a stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank misspiggy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at Driftwood. Peter and Mignonn were very friendly and helpful. We were greeted at the door upon arrival by name.

The entire guesthouse was nicely decorated in a contemporary style, with various pieces of driftwood used as decor.

Peter told us he paints over the entire house every year. Which explained why the entire premises look very attractive.

The garden was also very well kept.

Breakfast was great and the bread was home made.

My only comment was that the bathroom sink did not have a mixer. So you needed lukewarm water, you would need to fill the sink.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank benign-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#10 of 61 in Kenmare
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.1 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 61 in Kenmare
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood

Address: Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £58 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Driftwood 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star rated property is ideally situated on the edge of Kenmare and a short walk into the town. All 3 bedrooms are presented to a very high standard and all en-suite. A fine eye for detail by the owners and complimentary tea/coffee, shower and shampoo and free WI-FI ensure a very comfortable stay for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Driftwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing