We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakfield Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Morty & Marian went out of their way to make us feel like part of the family - greeted with tea and cake on arrival, nothing was too much trouble - even offering to deliver & collect us at the pub if we felt like 'letting loose'. Breakfast added to our already bulging waistlines, with plenty of choice to keep us going all day! A very comfortable bed, and room with en-suite bathroom - a view out across fields and the bay with mountains beyond - after two nights we wished we could have stayed a week. Lots of suggestions for sight seeing - spectacular scenery over the Pass - very glad there were no buses on that route! Getting 'lost' down a farm track was not in the guide notes and Morty enjoyed our retelling of this mistake in reading the map! A very special place with some very special hosts. Thank you Morty & Marian. Sue & John, Melbourne. Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Oakfield Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Morty and Marian could not have been kinder. Their home was beautiful with all of the amenities. Our room was very comfortable. The breakfast menu was extensive and the food was very delicious. We enjoyed sitting in the family room and discussing the day’s events. Their dog, Jesse, was also very much appreciated. The B&B was comforting in every way. We highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomtChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

On our recent visit to Ireland we were lucky enough to find the Oakfield Bed and Breakfast. the owners of the home Morty and Marion were fabulous hosts. They welcomed us from the moment of arrival with warmth and enthusiasm. We had two days of great breakfasts, wonderful hosts and a beautiful place to stay. They gave us important information about the area we were visiting and how to get around.
If you are ever in the area this is the place to stay!!! We stayed two nights and I only wish we had more time to stay there. We traveled with friends and we all agreed it was the nicest and most wonderful place of our two week travel. Make sure you plan to stay at the Oakfield on your trip to Ireland.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room. What a beautiful place!!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had a delightful stay at Oakfield with Morty and Marion. Great welcome fab rooms and excellent breakfast. Welcomed to join the family at night and thanks to Mortys advice had a wonderful following day doing the Beara Penninsular and exploring great villages to Blarney. Thanks to both of you from Leanne and Barry

Room Tip: All you need and lovely rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed again in Feb/March 2013, same as ever, great people, great location, I explained that i had given up bread and cheese for lent and i never saw any, so i was not tempted, thank you Marian and Morty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I am a bit baffled by the good reviews. That was not the experience that we had. We were not made to feel welcomed. We were shown our room, which was nice enough. We were told we could find the breakfast room in the morning, then the lady left for the evening. We never saw her in the morning, just heard her complaining in the kitchen. The man was nice enough when we did find the breakfast room. We never did get their names. Perhaps they don't like to be bothered by people only spending one night?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarianMorty O, Owner at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Jean and Dan.

Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy our stay with us, and we are disappointed that you did not bring your concerns to us before you left.
We cannot understand how you did not know our names, it is on our business cards in the hall, its mentioned several times in our guest booklet in the bedrooms should you have taken the time to read it, and not once in our 27 years in business have we NOT introduced ourselves to a guest! so how you didn't know our names genuinely baffles us!

you end your review with a question, " Perhaps they don't like to be bothered by people only spending one night? " . In response to this I urge you to read the other reviews, especially the review by casualtraveller8 on June 29th 2012. Morty and I pride ourselves on high hospitality, and it doesn't matter if you are on a 10 night stay in our balcony suite or if you knock on our door, lost and at your wits in like casual traveller 8, every person is treated with the same Irish welcome.

Kind regards,

Marian and Morty O'Sullivan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Marion and Marty are lovely houses and make you feel right at home from the minute you arrive at their Bed & Breakfast. Conveniently located 3km from the quaint village of Kenmare, Oakfield is the perfect home base for travels around the Ring of Kerry and surrounding towns. Our room was spacious (and the bathroom even more spacious) with plenty of room for spreading out and settling in. We had s skylight over our bed and a sitting area that looked out over the bay. GORGEOUS! Marion and Marty were so helpful - with everything from which pub had the best music to which attractions we should be sure not to miss. Breakfast was delicious (the best homemade brown bread we had!) and the dining area was comfortable and welcoming! Kenmare was one of our favorite parts of Ireland and our stay at Oakfield was WONDERFUL!! We WILL go back....

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and in the back - super quiet and private. They had converters for our electr...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarianMorty O, Owner at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Greetings from Oakfield.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our home in the future.

Kind Regards

Marian and Morty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
2.0 mi away
SheenView B&B
SheenView B&B
#29 of 61 in Kenmare
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#37 of 61 in Kenmare
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
An Bruachan
An Bruachan
#26 of 61 in Kenmare
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
River Meadows B&B
River Meadows B&B
#36 of 61 in Kenmare
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
1.4 mi away
Tara Farm
Tara Farm
#8 of 21 in Kenmare
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfield Bed and Breakfast

Address: Castletownberehaven Road | Dauros, Kenmare R571, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £22 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing