We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible bed, a dirty room, and a messy foyer”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
Ranked #14 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible bed, a dirty room, and a messy foyer”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My wife and I are not hard to please, but we were very disappointed with this B&B. It was actually the worst place we stayed in Ireland in 3 weeks. The exterior is lovely and the location is very good, but that's about all that was good for us. Our bed was so lumpy that we had to sleep on top of the comforter, and we still couldn't sleep well. The shower had quite a bit of mildew growing in it, and the bathroom floor was dirty. While our hostess was nice and breakfast was good, we would definitely never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    35
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We are a young family with 2 children ages 10 and 14. We travelled thru Ireland for 12 nights. Traveling from Kinsale, we drove to Killarny then to Kenmare in 1 day. Stayed 1 night at Lissyclearig. This is a great B and B and a great Value for families. The scenic drive from Killarney to Kenmare is one of the prettiest drives in all of Ireland. The town of Kenmare is picture post card Perfect; our vote for the prettiest town in Ireland. Carmel and David are great. We were welcolmed with coffee and tea on our arrival. My son Eli said it was the best coffee we had in Ireland. The breakfast here is first class; full Irish. The Inn is very pretty and unique; how often does an American stay in a Thatched cottage? Above all, visit Kenmare and do stay in this Inn. A great B and B run by a good Irish couple in a beautifull part of Ireland. This is a hidden gem!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Lissyclearig Thatched cottage on our recent family vacation. The cottage was charming, clean and comfortable. Carmel provides a delicious Irish Breakfast. She was very helpful in giving day-trip sightseeing tips and has a plethora of brochures and maps available for her guests. Mason, the sheepdog is sweet and a very good sport when it comes to photo opportunities!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I traveled to Ireland with 3 girlfriends last June and we booked 2 nights at Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage just outside Kenmare. We found this B&B delightful and so warm and homey. Our hostess Carmels was so helpful and friendly in the mornings and her Irish breakfast was delicious. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the surrounding property charming. If and when I return to Ireland I will certainly book a room at this wonderful B&B...we were so lucky to have stumbled upon it for this last trip. It was a memorable 2 days.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The B&B is really tasteful with very original wooden furniture. Beautiful garden with all kind of funny small details. Our children liked the dog and the kittens. Within walking distance of the nice town Kenmare. The owner is a very keen fly-fisher.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

While on vacation (Holiday) in Ireland my father and I had the opprotunity to stay at the Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage B & B. Boy was this a dream come true for me ! The owners built this cottage themselves including all of the wood furniture. This B & B is located in the beautiful countryside near the Ring of Kerry and is very peaceful. The rooms were very large and had private baths. The proprietors, Carmel and Davey Breen, are very friendly, and Carmel prepares a wonderful breakfast! If I ever get to go back to Ireland I will definately stay at the Thatched Cottage B & B ! Two Thumbs Up !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The old time charm of Ireland really comes alive in this charming cottage. The thatched cottage is clean, quiet, comfortable and charming to say the least. We found the proprietors Carmel and David as the perfect host to experence the real flavor of the country. This is a place where you can get lost in time. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with food from the garden served . It is the Ideal location for touring the south of Ireland. Our best B&B without a doubt.
The Lenn's

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
929 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
1.4 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 61 in Kenmare
614 reviews
1.7 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#5 of 61 in Kenmare
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage

Property: Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
Address: Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing